Saturday, March 30, 2013

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #142

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

Tell us about the most emotional scene you've ever read in a book - how did you react? 

I've done this question before for another Feature & Follow (can't remember) well, I picked the last scene from If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern and to cut it short I cried. Not, the blubbing, overflowing, overreacting crying but the kind where you're-all-alone-in-the-corner crying... 

Elizabeth (the main character) is one woman where she never really believed in love and fairytales because of a certain person (ahem, you'll have to read the book) until she meets Ivan (who doesn't meet their 'dream come true' one day) Well, in the last scene, he had to leave and she was working on a hotel project at that time, so she decided to lock herself up in the children area of the hotel and painted every single bittersweet moment she, her nephew and Ivan. While she said goodbye.... (you'll have to see why!) 


Friday, March 29, 2013

Review: Troll or Derby by Red Tash

Troll Or Derby
Title: Troll or Derby
Author: Red Tash
Release Date: 14th June 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Quick Review: In Troll Or Derby, fifteen-year-old Roller Deb is singled out by town bullies for both her skates, and for being different. When her popular homecoming queen of a sister is kidnapped by a scuzzy drug dealer, Deb must flee the trailer park in which she's grown up, and rescue her. Along the way, Deb becomes enmeshed in the magical realm of trolls and fairies, and the blood-thirsty version of roller derby at which these beings excel. But spending too much time among the fairies comes with a price. Will Deb choose to save her sister, with the aid of a mysterious troll? Or will she be lost to the lures of roller derby, and the blonde temptress April, forever?

Detailed Review: I love everything about this book. The cover, the story, the characters, the setting you name it. If I was given the chance to say more about it, I would just say that it was an extraordinary read for me, something that was not mundane and doesn't occur daily.

I drank everything in, from start to end and I realise something. Even though with something like roller derby mixed in together with fantasy such as trolls and fairies, everything is still amazing. 

Red, you are one awesome writer. 

So, in Troll or Derby, it is basically about how Roller Deb loves to skate and is pulled into a world where roller derby is important and a gruesome source of entertainment. It doesn't help Deb deal with Jag McJagger, king of the trolls, who badly wants her on his team. And the fact that she is her sister Gennifer's Protector and she has to go and rescue her from Jag. So with no other choice, she joins roller derby and Jag's daughter April. or Alma Steevil (Almost Evil). Soon she finds that she starts to forget everything else but her present life. But with the help of her husband Harlow (yes she's married, to a troll against her will) she immediately shakes herself into reality and slays the evil king Jag. 

The End.

But if you want more, you really have got to read it yourself. I guarantee, this is a five-star read.

Brief Review: OMG. Someone shoot me. I possibly have no idea what other things to say besides the fact that it's amazing. My reviewing career is ending here.

Final Rating: 5/5 "Totally Amazing!"

Your Reviewer: 

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're  eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)Title: Through the Zombie Glass
Author: Gena Showalter
Release Date: September 2013
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Inspired by the childhood classic Alice in Wonderland, this harrowing and romantic story features teen zombie slayer Alice Bell who has lost so much—family, friends, her home. After a strange new zombie attack, Alice fears she may be losing her mind as well. A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do wicked things. The whispers of the dead assault her ears and mirrors seem to come frighteningly to life. She’s never needed her team of zombie slayers more—including her boyfriend, Cole—than she does now. But as Cole strangely withdraws and the zombies gain new strength, Ali knows one false step may doom them all.

That's a gorgeous cover. Who's kidding me? It's even more amazing than the first book, Alice in Zombieland. I'm sure Chloe would be jumping up and down now once she's seen the cover. She's a sucker of nice covers :)

Friday, March 22, 2013

Review: Fire by Heather James

Fire (Elements of Power, #1)Title: Fire
Author: Heather James
Release Date: 5th January 2013
Publisher: Heather James
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Is control over the elements a gift, or a curse?

Roxy thinks that she is in control of everything: with flames flaring at her fingertips and an equally fiery attitude, what more could she need? But then she meets Brae, a prince from a rival Realm, who turns her assumptions of superiority upside down.

Jasmine has none of Roxy’s confidence or intensity. But she does have a secret - and Brae - and she’s not going to give either up willingly.

Detailed Review: First, I'm going to talk about how this book left me with my mouth wide open and my eyes bulging out of my head. I was lucky that no one was there when I finally finished the book. I was stuck in the situation where I was waiting for MORE. For something to happen. Something that was going to give me a heart attack.


The book just got cut off like that. Wanna know what the last sentence is?

So I told him everything, as we looked out across the water.

I was literally begging on my knees for more. I wanted more tidbits. But sadly nothing ever came. Heather, you really know how to write that it has managed to squeeze every ounce of life out of me. I just died once, but with my friend and partner Chloe's help, I was resurrected once again. I hope you give more in the next book. PLEASE.

crying gif photo: crying zoey crying.gif

In Fire, there are four realms that feature four different elemental powers:

The Brizan Realm: Water
The Arcan Realm: Air
The Helian Realm: Fire
The Sephan Realm: Earth

Plus if they're protectors, then they have a bonus mark: different coloured streaks in their hair. Blue for Brizan, silver for Arcan, red for Helian and green for Sephan. 

Roxy is a Helian, the granddaughter of  King Nero and she is a protector that's destined to be a traitor. Jasmine is an Arcan (or is she?), and she's a close friend to the Arcan prince, Brae. Both girls' lived collide together as they are put together in undesired circumstances to help the other realms survive as the Helians plan to Control them goes into motion. 

And Jasmine has a secret, one she doesn't dare tell to anyone, for fear that they will think of her as a monster.

Instead of any of the colours that Protectors usually wear, she has PURPLE streaks in her hair. So I figured everything out like this: when you add blue to red you get purple. So that must meant that Jasmine is both Helian and Brizan. Am I right? Do I get a reward?

So this was a rather tearful read for me. And it was so sad....

Brief Review: I'm crying again... Please don't do this to me anymore. I beg you... The book was way better than I expected. It was plain awesome. Come along and join the pool party. My tears are enough to make a pool now.

Final Rating: 5/5 "Totally Amazing!"

Your Reviewer: 

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #141

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

What is your guilty pleasure as far as reading? Is it a genre, or is it a certain type of book? 

I really have no idea to this question... Guilty pleasure, huh? Let's see... how about totally over the top romance. Romance that is completely exaggerated and narrated too detailed though those just make me kinda gross out, somehow. But I'm stickin' with this answer! 

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Review:The Merman and The Moon Forgotten by Kevin Mcgill

The Merman and the Moon Forgotten (Nikolas and Company, Episode #1)Title: The Merman and The Moon Forgotten
Author: Kevin McGill
Publisher: Aero Studios
Release Date: 31st March 2012
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: "A long time ago in a world not so far away…"
Senior stagecoach driver, Yeri Willrow, leads a group of mysterious passengers through one of the most fog-ridden night of his prestigious career. What he thought would be a simple drive and drop quickly turns into an attack by foul-breath, red-eyed creatures. Yeri learns that his mysterious passengers are a family of automaton-legged merfolk, and he is their only hope from the creature most foul.

"Sometime in the near future…"
Fourteen-year-old Nick lives in a time when one can zip from country to country in mach-speed hovercars, extend their life indefinitely through cerebral downloads, and have every whim taken care of by their ever faithful nannydrone.

Nick hates it. 

Aside from the refugee camps, overpopulation, and unchecked consumerism filling every city across the globe, Nick just doesn’t belong. That is when he hears the voice of a woman: 

“The Rones lie about their true intent. They enter the city of Huron at the peril of us all.” 

Shortly after, his slightly crazed grandfather reveals to him:

“All you’ve ever heard about the Moon is a lie, my dear Nikolas. He was not always a mere satellite, a ghost wandering the stars. In an age before our own, Moon was our twin, and in him bore the whole of magical life. The cradle of this magical civilization was a fantastic metropolis filled with fire-breathing winged lions, volcano-born nymphs, automaton-legged mermaids, and so much magic you could smell it. We called this city Huron, and you, Nikolas, are her steward.”

Detailed Review: <review copy received from the author himself>

Apparently all the good parts in the book have already been said up there, so I will talk about how it is good. There's nothing bad to say about this book, so you can guess what rating I'm giving this book. 

It's creative. I have never seen an author able to piece fantasy AND science fiction so perfectly. No flaws, just perfection. It's just plain genius of the author to think of such a plot. Nobody but him can think that Earth and the Moon are brother planets and people really live on the Moon, or Mon.

Here's some facts about Nikolas Lyons:

1. He's smart.
2. He likes to invent stuff, which mostly sets fire to things or literally explodes.
3. I love him. ( Cut out all the ews ok?) I just do.
4. He's MY hero.
5. He has a brother called Tim, who I find super annoying and feel like punching in the face every second he appears in the book. Can someone damn him to hell for that? Please? Then I can leave in peace. And whoever who does that will get their reward too. Fair?

Here are some other characters with descriptions according to Nick's computer recognition system.

Caroline Wendell: People only like Caroline because she can cook, from scratch, A rare commodity in this century. And for only a fourteen-year-old, she is a fantastic cook. Chocolate chip cookies after school, pie on Sundays, and a large bird called turkey for Thanksgiving. If boys won’t fancy her for her looks, they’ ll fancy her for her key lime pie.

Brandy Wendell: Brandy couldn’t be more different. Being the youngest sister, she hates to cook. Brandy claims that it keeps her from her number one love: looking cute. In defense, Brandy also explains that cooking keeps her from talking with her friends, all 372 of them to be
exact. Some people collect stamps; Brandy collects people.

Haley Wendell: Sixteen years old, enchanting blond hair and deep green eyes. Haley’s name is on the lips of every boy at the refugee camp, without any aid on her part. In fact, it takes a brave boy to ask her on a date, knowing that Haley has responded with more than a ‘no’. She verbally assaults would-be suitors, leaving only a scarred psyche for collection. Over Christmas break, Weaver High School’s basketball team, who had won 4 state championships in a row, made a bet as to whom she would say “yes” to first on the team. Every one of them stepped up and took their turn. She told them exactly what she thought. Not only did the basketball team not win state championship that year, the point guard asked to be transferred to another school because, and I quote from his Friendbook account, ‘I have serious questions about my own ability to dribble a ball, defend the basket, or lift a fork and put it in my mouth.’

Daniel Kobayashi: Nineteen-year-old Daniel Kobayashi is not much taller than a hobbit and  intelligent beyond his years. By the early age of ten, he had made the front cover of Japan’s  holopaper, ‘I’. They named him “Child Genius of The Year” for discovering the very first non-metal

magnet. That was until the genetic plague killed his mother, crippled him, and left him utterly hairless, which makes him more goblin than hobbit, I suppose.

Xanthus Kobayashi: Xanthus, Daniel’s half-brother, is thirteen years old. Xanthus explains to everyone that he received his name from a visit in the night by an African tribal leader indigenous to the Sub-Saharan, known for his powerful magic and warrior-like skills. This would be true if by “African tribal leader” he means ‘I live in my own fantasy world because I can’t cope with life at the

refugee camp.’ Xanthus’ pitiful faux hawk, his earring of a silver woman, and mismatched black outfit make for an awkward compilation.

The characters above, together with Nick's grandfather, also called Nick embark on a strange adventure that wasn't intended. I really can't wait for the 2nd book! Ahhhhh! I really want to know what happens next! AHC! AHC! AHC! AHC! (You should know what that means now, as introduced to you by Chloe.)

I can't say enough of what I think of this book. But this review is lengthy enough. I must stop to catch my breath. 

Brief Review: I'm glad that I agreed to review the book and the author had introduced me to it. This is definitely for fans of science fiction and fantasy. To me, every single word in the book meant a whole new thing to me as the story progressed. And there is a pretty huge cliffhanger at the end. Just saying.

Final Rating: 5/5 "Totally Amazing!"

Your Reviewer: 

Waiting on Wednesday: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Unbreakable (Legion, #1)Title: Unbreakable
Author: Kami Garcia
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 1st October 2013
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

I never believed in ghosts. Until one tried to kill me.

When Kennedy Waters finds her mother dead, her world begins to unravel. She doesn’t know that paranormal forces in a much darker world are the ones pulling the strings. Not until identical twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy’s room and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her. The brothers reveal that her mother was part of an ancient secret society responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon — a society whose five members were all murdered on the same night.

Now Kennedy has to take her mother’s place in the Legion if she wants to uncover the truth and stay alive. Along with new Legion members Priest and Alara, the teens race to find the only weapon that might be able to destroy the demon — battling the deadly spirits he controls every step of the way.

Suspense, romance, and the paranormal meet in this chilling urban fantasy, the first book in a new series from Kami Garcia, bestselling coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures novels.

I'm a huge fan of both Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl! They've especially done great work in the Beautiful Creatures series and I've watched the movie too! Is it a coincidence that the book is about ghosts and it's coming out on the month of Halloween? I'm guessing no. I can't wait to see what Kami can cook up on her own! And the cover looks fiery and amazing too! Hope it's GOOD!!!!! Yum....

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Review: Oath of Servitude by C.E. Wilson

Name: Oath of Servitude
Author: C.E. Wilson
Publisher: self publication
Release Date: (date unknown) September 2012
Find on: AmazonGoodreads

Quick Review: 

This is the story of Teague and Cailin, two teenagers who have been brought together by fate. Teague, a human, struggles to come to terms with the consequences of a recent accident that has destroyed the happy life that he had once enjoyed. Cailin, a pixi, is trying to stay true to herself while fighting against forces beyond her control that have exiled her from her home into this strange world of humans. She fears the darkness. He cannot escape it. But when the two of them are thrown together, they begin to discover the light inside of themselves.

Detailed Review: <review copy received from the author herself>

The story starts off where Teague's father, Owen who is supposedly a not-so great dad as he tries to pick the pieces of his son. Teague has become an alcoholic ever since his dad offered a bottle of vodka to him (I mean, serious?) One day, his dad decided to take in a pixi, Cailin in exchange of saving one of them. 

BUT... Teague's father --->hasn't told<--- Teague that Cailin is a --->pixi<---. (see the problem here?)

C.E. Wilson (the author) has written such a captivating and challenging story that revolves around pixies, humans and other mysterious beings that are yet to be known. I was really impressed by Wilson's writing and the tone of language being used to capture the YA audience. 

The book was really intriguing and had its own unique pace that will keep the readers on the edge of their seats. The start was about Teague who has just gone blind due to drinking due to the after damage of having an accident during a baseball game. 

Here comes, Cailin! The pixi who is a pixi (well, duh) she's someone who doesn't give up too easily as she gets to know Teague in a whole different level of faith and sadness. 

BUT... I'll have to stop you right there before you fall in love with this 'perfect' world and 'perfect' love. Why? When Teague finds what Cailin really is? Will the love last? Hell no, Teague pretty much freaked out and things went crazy after that... 

Guess what? I really thought Teague was perfect for Cailin and the other way around too. Each other understands each other... what's the perfect match-up? YET... those evil pixies had to spoil the moment! 

You know, when you have the hots for one those characters... you're all like "They're totally perfect for each other!" Instead it just had to blow up in your face, you know? Yeah, that's pretty much what I felt but I feel this book was really authentic and sweet. 

Excluding the bitter-sweet moment at the end! 

*It's a secret* 


That's what I'll give you. An AHC. 


Well, I'll make up for those words by saying this... 

Readers, once you'll read this you'll be putting this on your fantasy favourite shelf! I'm not trying to favour an author or anything or being bias or something... just thought this book really deserved it! 

So, buy it. Love it. Read it to bits. (literally) 

Brief Review: A fresh, new out-of-the-story fantasy where pixies and humans never coexisted. Since then, C.E. Wilson has created the unity of a love story between a pixie girl and a human boy where they both struggle to find their place in their own worlds. 

My Rating: 5/5    "Totally Amazing!


Friday, March 15, 2013

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #140

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

Activity! Hopefully warm weather for most of us here soon... So tell us about your favourite outdoor reading spot. Or take a picture. 

This is where I read *sometimes* with the company of my dog, Shadow! Nice weather we're having! :P

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

The Book of Broken HeartsTitle: The Book of Broken Hearts
Author: Sarah Ockler
Release Date: 21st May 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

When all signs point to heartbreak, can love still be a rule of the road? A poignant and romantic novel from the author of Bittersweet and Twenty Boy Summer.

Jude has learned a lot from her older sisters, but the most important thing is this: The Vargas brothers are notorious heartbreakers. She’s seen the tears and disasters that dating a Vargas boy can cause, and she swore an oath—with candles and a contract and everything—to never have anything to do with one.

Now Jude is the only sister still living at home, and she’s spending the summer helping her ailing father restore his vintage motorcycle—which means hiring a mechanic to help out. Is it Jude’s fault he happens to be cute? And surprisingly sweet? And a Vargas?

Jude tells herself it’s strictly bike business with Emilio. Her sisters will never find out, and Jude can spot those flirty little Vargas tricks a mile away—no way would she fall for them. But Jude’s defenses are crumbling, and if history is destined to repeat itself, she’s speeding toward some serious heartbreak…unless her sisters were wrong?

Jude may have taken an oath, but she’s beginning to think that when it comes to love, some promises might be worth breaking.

I love the title so much and the cover is soooooo beautiful! It totally relates to the title and like many delicious contemporaries have beautiful stories too!

Friday, March 8, 2013

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #139

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

What is the book that you didn't like that all your friends raved about or what book did yo love that wasn't popular? 

I'm going for the first question so... the book that I didn't like but all my friends loved it is... DIVERGENT! I seriously didn't like Divergent, I thought the main character Tris was really annoying. It's like almost every time something goes wrong, she needs Four's help! So yeah, I didn't really 'love' Divergent at all. 

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, which highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)
Title: Siege and Storm
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Release Date: 4th June 2013
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. But she can't outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling's game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her--or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Finally, the cover is out! It's even more amazing than the first book! Just look at the colour combinations and the title. They just fit together so well! CAN'T WAIT ANYMORE!!!

Monday, March 4, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Underground Witch by Debbie Dee

About Debbie Dee:

PictureDebbie Dee recently moved to southern Idaho with her husband and three children where she is learning how to be a country girl in her favorite pair of blue heels. She adores fairy tales and happy endings, but secretly crushes on the bad guy now and then.

As a dedicated musician who practices way too much, she never expected writing would sweep her off her feet until she jotted down a scene from a daydream, which turned into two scenes, which turned into a messy house and her first novel, The Last Witch. Since then she hasn’t been able to let a day go by without writing.

In addition to writing, she plays the piano, harp, violin, and gets in frequent fights with her cello. She loves to read and play board games - when she is winning. 

You can find Elicia's review of The Last Witch here.

As the last of the Incenaga Witches, Emmeline has been tortured, abused, and forced to use her power to kill. But unlike the Incenagas before her, she has survived. With her freedom restored, she should feel safe, invincible even. After all, she has the protection of Erick’s army and a power strong enough to obliterate any enemy. Yet Emmeline lives in fear for the next person who will try to control her, and no one can seem to find the tyrant threatening to claim her.

Until it’s too late.

With everything on the line, and the enemy at her throat, Emmeline has no choice but to convince Erick she no longer loves him (or risk him following her) and disappear with the one person she vowed to hate. But when she finds a way to take back her freedom and fight for Erick, will Emmeline be able to use her power like never before? Even if it kills her?
In The Underground Witch, the second novel of the Incenaga Trilogy, Debbie Dee delivers enough adventure, heartbreak, and suspense to captivate readers at every turn.

And now for the final moment...

This is the gorgeous cover of the second book by Debbie Dee in the Incenaga Witches trilogy...

Saturday, March 2, 2013

Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book ThiefTitle: The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 14th March 2006
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Quick Review: It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery....

Narrated by Death, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a young foster girl living outside of Munich in Nazi Germany. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist – books. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor's wife's library, wherever they are to be found.

With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids, as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Detailed Review: I so loved this book! It was so different from many books I read this year that I think it just made its way to the list of my most-loved books!

These are the characters that I cherished so much in this book:

Death: The main narrator in the story. After I read it, it gave me the impression was just a normal person that helped many souls travel up to heaven or wherever they we're supposed to go to. And I loved the part where he wished that Rudy hadn't died so he and Liesel could be together. 

See, even death has a heart.

Liesel Meminger: I was intrigued by the book thief herself, who couldn't read at first but had developed a love towards books. I loved her nobleness and her curiosity and many other things. But what I loved the most was still her love for many of the people that were dearest to her. My heart was going to break into two when she wailed and howled because her foster parents and Rudy were dead. 

Hans Hubermann: He was the best accordionist in the world and he taught Liesel how to roll a cigarette. He gave Liesel her first book and taught her how to read. He accompanied her after her perpetual nightmares. He was a Jewish-lover. He was good to everyone he met. To me, he is the true hero in the story.

Rosa Hubermann: She calls the people she loves Saumensch and Saukerl and cooks her horrible-tasting pea soup daily. She is calm when the waves are raging. And she snores a lot. 

Max Vandenburg: He wrote two books that impacted Liesel's life: The Standover Man and The Word Shaker. Like Liesel, I loved the book after I read them and noticed that underneath his words were the words Hitler wrote in conjunction with his ideas of purity.

Rudy Steiner: Liesel's best friend and a good athlete. He loved Liesel and always asked for a kiss when he did a favour. Even when he waded into a river to get her a book. In the end. he got the kiss. But it was too late. He was already dead.

Ilsa Hermann: The mayor's wife. She knows that Liesel has been stealing from her library ever since she's shown her the books there. And she actually cares for Liesel like a real mother. She asks the book thief to write a book. 

In the end. I was crying with relief and grief, because Liesel is alive but the people she loves are dead. She was alive because she was reading the book she wrote during a bomb raid in the basement. I loved all the characters. I loved everything about the book and how it was written.

I want to watch the movie now... Boo hoo hoo...

Final Review: I followed Liesel's life with interest and noted how she affected many people's lives as her life converges with others. I cried when she cried and laughed when she laughed. I love you, Liesel. And remember that your foster parents love you too. And so does Rudy and Max. All of us do.

Final Rating: 6/5 "Awesome, Amazing and Amazing!!!!!!" (No, there is nothing wrong with the rating. It's seriously what I think)

Your Reviewer: