Thursday, July 31, 2014

ARC Review: Twisted Reflections by Shay West




Title: Twisted Reflections
Author: Shay West
Release Date: 28th July 2014
Publisher: Booktrope Editions
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewAlexis Davenport wants to be rid of her gift of time travel, and the duty that has been thrust upon her to protect the time line from an evil lunatic trying to change the past. When she travels back to ancient Egypt, Alex gets a most unexpected surprise; she meets a fellow Traveler like herself, someone who can possibly help her figure out how to use her powers to stop Drifter from altering the past. But can she learn how to control her gift before Drifter finds a way to stop her from meddling in his plans?

Detailed Review: *I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review*

I was immediately transported into Alex's world from the first page. I think what is the most important element in a sequel are the characters. They should stay the same and shouldn't change at all unless they had a reason to. 

I was glad to find that nothing had really changed in the characters, which could have potentially hampered my enjoyment of the book.

You might ask, 'What was so good about this book?'

The fact that this book is not just a normal time-travel book that actually follows the conventions of the genre, it is also a contemporary that deals with more than just saving the world.

There are first loves, family problems, sudden changes and peer problems too, that adds to the mix of being able to time-travel. I might have mentioned them in my review of the first book of the series.

There were two new characters in the story: Seth and his Master Gavin. They certainly were original characters and it was great to see Alex finally getting some help, although it was frustrating when they couldn't give her answers on how to defeat Drifter.

Speaking of Drifter, I honestly really dislike him, which I'm sure was the intended response of the reader.

He is the embodiment of evil.

Don't even speak to me about his Master. I abhor him.

Every single time I read about him, I always shout curse words at him mentally, because I would kill anyone who insults history, ESPECIALLY those who want to change it.

Can't people see how important history is? If you change the events of the past, then you will change the future.

And if the past doesn't happen, mankind will never learn from their mistakes. The past happens so that we won't repeat the past.

I think I shall have to send this little speech about changing the past to the author and ask her to forward it to Drifter and his Master.

And as you have heard me say so many times, there are bound to be plot twists and some really surprising connections, for it to be a five-star book.

Connections as in: the enemy may be closer than you think.

Technically what I want to say about this book, which is pretty amazing, has already been mentioned in my review for the first book, Dangerous Reflections.

If you want to read about my further opinion on the first book, Dangerous Reflections, click HERE.

Detailed Review: Twisted Reflections rivals with other time-travel books to reach the top. But I assure you, it has already done so. Now all the author needs to do is add more plot twists in the next book and more secrets to be uncovered!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'

QUOTE

The past is obdurate- Stephen King 


Your Reviewer:

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that features upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:



Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: 2nd September 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Find onGoodreads
Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy. 

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?


I love love love Sarah J. Maas and her books! They're just so GOOD!!! If this isn't enough of a reason why I want this book so badly, go up and look at the cover, and then read the description.

Would YOU want it too? ;)

What are you waiting on this week? Comment below!









Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Teaser Tuesday #4




Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week, I'll be sharing a teaser from a very heart-breaking book from a well-known series- The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. I'm currently reading City of Heavenly Fire now and honestly, it's tearing me apart. 

Here is the snippet:

“Don’t carry the weight of the world on you, Jace. It’s too heavy for even a Herondale to bear."





Monday, July 28, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Breathe Series by Elena Dillon



   


Breathe by Elena Dillon 
Book 1 - Breathe Series 
Young Adult Romantic Suspense
Jasmine’s life wasn’t normal for a 16 year old girl. It hadn’t been normal since the murder of her older sister, Daisy, two years ago. Her life had been changed forever. The monster that murdered Daisy was never caught. That was the reason her family decided to move away from their hometown in Southern California, to start over. Hopefully in a place where the last name Rourke wouldn’t bring on staring or judgment or morbid curiosity.

In Lafayette, Louisiana things are quite a bit different but in a good way. Good manners, Cajun accents and a whole lot of Southern Hospitality all make her think things are going in the right direction. On top of that the most gorgeous boy she has ever met is interested in her. Her new friends are better than she could have hoped for even if she is worried about what they might think when they find out who she is. Life would be perfect if odd things didn’t keep happening. Creepy phone calls, texts, and flowers in her locker start adding up quickly to something terrifying. Could the Monster have followed them to Lafayette? Was he coming after her this time? Maybe she was just worrying unnecessarily…or not.
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1l2aRBN
Purchase
Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/1upgmE2
Shimmer by Elena Dillon
Book 2 - Breathe Series
Young Adult Romantic Suspense
Chandler Raines and her “dad” are on the run. Never staying in one place for very long. It’s just not safe. When they arrive in Lafayette, Louisiana, Chandler quickly realizes this is the place she wants to call home. Friends, a cute boy, and competitive cheerleading have her taking dangerous risks to have the life she always wanted. Risks she promised she wouldn’t take. When her lies catch up to her, a decision has to be made. Stay or run? Will the evil that’s chased them for the last four years catch up to them? When Chandler’s past comes screeching into the present she’ll have to sacrifice everything to keep what she loves safe. But will it be enough?

About the Author
I have had a love of books for as long as I can remember. I got in trouble as a kid for staying up too late on school nights, reading. I'm a nerdgirl and proud of it. I've been writing my whole life but only recently decided to come out in public with it.
I write Young Adult love stories because as my husband would tell you, I never matured much past fifteen. There is nothing better to me than a good romance with an amazing hero, throw in some creepy suspense and I'm in.
I write from my home office in Southern California with our English Bulldog, Brutus to keep me company. To hear about him, my writing experience and read some outtakes of my stories check out my blog at elenadillon.com.
I love to chat with other readers and writers.

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green




Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Release Date: 10th January 2012
Publisher: Dutton Books
Find on: Goodreads

Quick Review: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

Detailed Review: I've read The Fault in Our Stars for the second time now. Somehow, it was worse because you know what was coming, and you feel dread as you moved along the book. No matter how prepared you are for what's coming, it still hurts as much as the first time.

That is the heartbreaking reality of reading The Fault in Our Stars.

This book never fails to make me laugh. With Hazel and Augustus' humorous exchanges, the atmosphere is always one of comedy and love. Even through their darkest days, their spirits were never weakened. Their humour never fades, nor their love for each other.

This is what TFIOS does: it highlights love in its strongest and most beautiful state. 

They say that this book is a 'sick love story'. The word 'love' doesn't just describe the love between couples, it describes family love (Hazel and her family) the love we have for our friends (Isaac and Gus), even the love you harbour for your idol (Peter van Houten).

That is why this book has touched so many people, after all. 

All the characters- every single one of them fit into the story so well; they enhance its beauty. All of them had a degree of humour in them, except Peter Van Houten, who was made of bitterness and regret. Hazel and Gus weren't quite their usual selves either towards the end. I guess that's what life does to you- it changes you. This was certainly a good thing in TFIOS, because if all the characters were funny, then the book wouldn't be as good. If a book can make you both laugh AND cry, then you know that is a good book.

Don't even ask me what happens in the book that makes people cry if you haven't read it. Because it's EVERY SINGLE FREAKING THING. You know that feeling when you think of a very funny or good moment in the past and you want to cry because you'll never experience it again? That is why.

*I have just watched the movie, which was really good. It did make me cry, but honestly the book was still better.

Brief Review: TFIOS is a much a comedy as a tragedy. The ratio of laughter to tears when reading this book would be 1 to 1. I highly recommend it if you want a book that has you laughing in the beginning and crying at the ending!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'

QUOTE

I decided to use a quote from the book itself and dedicate it to everyone.,

The marks humans leave are too often scars---John Green

Your Reviewer:

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that features upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:


Title: Of Scars and Stardust
Author: Andrea Hannah
Release Date: 8th October 2014
Publisher: Flux
Find on: Goodreads


After  her little sister mysteriously vanishes, seventeen-year-old Claire Graham has a choice to make: stay snug in her little corner of Manhattan with her dropout boyfriend, or go back to Ohio to face the hometown tragedy she's been dying to leave behind.

But the memories of that night still haunt her in the city, and as hard as she tries to forget what her psychiatrist calls her "delusions," Claire can't seem to escape the wolf's eyes or the blood-speckled snow. Delusion or reality, Claire knows she has to hold true to the most important promise she's ever made: to keep Ella safe. She must return to her sleepy hometown in order to find Ella and keep her hallucinations at bay before they strike again. But time is quickly running out, and as Ella's trail grows fainter, the wolves are becoming startlingly real.

Now Claire must deal with her attraction to Grant, the soft-spoken boy from her past that may hold the secret to solving her sister's disappearance, while following the clues that Ella left for only her to find. Through a series of cryptic diary entries, Claire must unlock the keys to Ella's past—and her own—in order to stop another tragedy in the making, while realizing that not all things that are lost are meant to be found.(less)


I just got approved for an ARC of this book of NetGalley, so I can't wait to dig in!!! It seems intriguing, especially the title and synopsis. That cover is beautiful without even trying!!!

What are you waiting on this week? Comment below!

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Teaser Tuesday #3




Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



This week, I'll be sharing a teaser from an ARC I've just finished reading- The Girl from The Well by Rin Chupeco. 

Here is the snippet:

I am the fate that people fear to become. I am what happens to good persons, and to bad persons, and to everyone in between.