Wednesday, October 1, 2014

BLOGOVERSARY DAY 5: Diane Mannino

Finally, I'm back from vacation and I'm glad to announce the blogging hiatus ends NOW! Today, we have Diane Mannino on the blog today! If you're not familiar with that name, she is an indie author who wrote the YA contemporary romance series Running From Romeo. I've read all of her books and I loved them so much!



1. Why did you choose to go into writing?

 I discovered my love for writing when I was young. I used to make up stories and English was always my favorite subject. I majored in English in college. I think I love writing so much because I love reading so much. There's nothing better than getting lost in a really great book. Do you feel that way? After college, I wrote for a couple magazines as well as a couple television shows. In a nutshell, I chose to go into writing because I always loved it!
2. You decided to self-publish your book. Why didn't you choose to publish your books through a major publishing house like Harper Collins? 


I'd love to publish through a major publishing house, but I know how hard it is. It can take years for an unknown author to get picked up by a major publisher. It took Kathryn Stockett three years to get "The Help" published. Self-publishing is a great way to get your book out there without waiting forever.

3. You've been mainly focused on romance in your books. Do you think books would be as good without romance in them?


 I love a good romance, but I also love books without it. Sometimes romance can get in the way of a good plot line. For example, there are plenty of thrillers (a genre I really enjoy) that are fantastic books and sometimes romance plays a part and it works. And other times, it's better if it's not developed. 
4. What do you think actually makes a good book? 


This questions ties in perfectly with my answer above because a good book may not have romance in it. A good book? Hmm...I think everyone has a different opinion on what makes a good book. But for me, a good book is one that draws me in from the first page, has well-developed characters, and a plot that makes you NOT want to put the book down. I also feel a really good book makes you feel a bit sad when you're done reading it. It makes you want more. :)

5. Friendship is also important in your books. Do you have friends like Chloe and Bryn in your life? 


I think we all want friends like Chloe and Bryn. I know some readers are bothered by Bryn, but she does and says everything because she's so protective of Emilia. She may come across as too overbearing, but in her heart, she only wants Emilia to be happy and safe. Don't we all want a friend like this? But I sort of went off topic! Yes, I have a couple girlfriends like them, but they drink more wine than margaritas. ;)
Haha, I absolutely get what you mean! 


6. Have you had ideas for any upcoming books?


 I wrote "Running from Romeo" and "Waiting for Romeo" with the intention of writing more books. I definitely left several unanswered questions in "Waiting for Romeo" that would be explained in future books. I hope to write more, but right now I'm busy being a mom to my two teenage daughters and I don't have much time to write at the moment! 

That is absolutely great news to hear from you!

7. How would you react if any of your books was made into a movie?


I think any author isn't being honest if they tell you they wouldn't be thrilled to have their book made into a movie! I would be super excited.

8. Will you try to venture into other genres like fantasy? 


I love the "Harry Potter" series and would absolutely love to write a series like that, but J.K. Rowling is a genius and my imagination isn't nearly as awesome as her's! I feel like my books kind of dabble a bit into other genres that I enjoy. I don't think it's strictly a "romance." There's some mystery and thriller elements to it so down the line I'd probably continue with those genres. 

9. If you could kidnap an author, who would it be and why?


 Lol! There's a couple I'd love to kidnap just to hang out with them and have a glass of wine with! Definitely J.K. Rowling, but only if she's okay with it! Stephen King would be another one and I'd have to say John Green. Why? They are all so incredibly talented!

10. What's your all-time favorite book?


 Yikes! Only one? I don't think I can choose just one. "The Great Gatsby," "To Kill a Mockingbird" and "Jane Eyre" are probably my favorite classics. My fave contemporary would be "Harry Potter." I'm sure I'm forgetting some...what's your fave? 

That's a hard question for me too, I'm afraid... All time favourite? Hmm... I'd have to agree with you on Harry Potter and To Kill a Mockingbird. I'll probably add The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare and Stolen Songbird by Danielle Jensen to the list! Of course, there are many more... (which I'm too lazy to list out one by one). Just go to my Goodreads profile and look at the 5-star books in my shelf; there IS a lot.

Thanks for answering my questions, Diane!

You can find my review for Running from Romeo HERE.


And HERE is my review of Waiting for Romeo!


I certainly didn't forget the giveaway, if you were wondering!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

DIANE MANNINO graduated from University of Maryland, College Park with a degree in English Literature. She is a former writer for Museum and Arts Washington and Star Magazine as well as several television shows, including, Inside Edition, American Journal, and E! News Daily. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two beautiful daughters. Running from Romeo is her first novel and she is currently working on the sequel.

Website: http://dianemannino.com/




HERE IS WHAT WE'LL BE GIVING AWAY IN THE GIVEAWAY!!!! IT IS INTERNATIONAL.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Book Update + Review: Bad Blood by Nicky Peacock

Some of you might have remembered that I've already posted a review for Bad Blood. The reason why I'm reposting it again is because the author's book was put off sale. Fortunately, Nicky managed to locate another publishing house so there's a new book cover to for the book. Also, enjoy the excerpt at the end of the post. That's personally one of my favourite parts!!!

Title: Bad Blood (Battle of the Undead #1)
Author: Nicky Peacock
Release Date: 10th May 2013
Publisher: Evernight Teen
Find on: Goodreads

Quick Review: “I am Britannia. I am your protector. I will fend off the hungry hordes of undead hands that reach toward you. I am your steadfast defender. I will stand between you and the zombie masses as they try to taste your flesh. I am strong, unyielding, and dedicated to your survival. All I ask from you… is your blood.”

A five-hundred-year-old bloody game of vengeance will need to be put on hold if vampires are to survive the zombie uprising. Britannia and Nicholas, bitter enemies and the only two surviving vampires left in London,have to work together to save un-infected humans and deliver them safely to a vampire stronghold in the Scottish Highlands. Unable to drink the zombie"bad blood," the remaining vampires need the humans to stay alive.But will the vampires tell the survivors who they are and what they want from them? Will Britannia be able to hold back her vengeance for the greater good?Is survivor Josh the reincarnation of Britannia's murdered true love? And can she bring herself to deliver him to the "safe" hold?

Survival instincts run deep, but bad blood can run deeper.


Detailed Review: Now, the main reason I loved this book so much was the action. Every word describes action. Every page has action. I also really love the author's selection of different species of the book and the contrast between the two: the vampires and the zombies.

In this book, it is explained that vampires are made by magic and zombies through science. The zombie apocalypse has arrived. Humans have been transformed into zombies after a science experiment gone wrong. It is Britannia's duty, together with two other vampires- Phillipe and Nicholas- to rescue the remaining uninfected humans so they can stock up their blood supply (yes I said blood supply, if not how will the vampires survive?)

One thing I'd like to add though, is that Nicky really writes to surprise. When things begin to become dull, she adds a little bit more action and at the same time a well-written twist to liven things up. 

As for the characters, I loved Britannia so much because of her sarcasm and wit and the fact that underneath her violent and unfeeling facade is another kinder person. I think writing Nicholas as the antagonist pairs off with Britannia really well. I really love the arguments they have. The humans who appear briefly in the book are also ones I like, too. All the characters were obviously planned and written thoroughly. 

To end this, let me gift you a quote from the book, which really inspired me.

'Be strong. Be fast. Be deadly.'

Brief Review: So much action you'll find yourself panting from just reading the book. This is an amazing book that will make you heart pound like crazy and sweat like a pig (it is possible, give it a try). I admire the author's ability to excite readers in such a short period of time.


Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'











QUOTE:

To Britannia, who I think should stop avenging Langdon,

There is no revenge so complete as forgiveness---Josh Billings

So please forgive Nicholas...




Your Reviewer:













Buy Links:

Amazon 
US
 Evernight Teen


About the Author:page1image14528 
I guess I’ve always been a storyteller, not in a ‘liar liar pants on fire’ kind of way, although I do work in advertising! When I was little, kids would crowd around me in the playground and I’d tell them tales of blood soaked horror filled with vampires, werewolves, ghosts and more. Yes, most would consider me a disturbed child, but my playmates couldn’t help themselves, they’d huddle around me every break time like an ancient tribe feeding off the fear; and that’s how I learned that horror stories hold a certain power, no matter what some might say, everyone is addicted to a good scare, especially if it is somewhat rooted safely in unrealistic beings... or are they unrealistic?

Writing was really a natural progression. Right now I’m obsessed with writing: a YA Urban Fantasy novel, a Paranormal Romance novella series, and several short horror stories! So I’m currently living in a functional fiction coma – and loving it!

I’ve so far been published in 5 countries: USA, UK, Australia, Ireland and Canada and had short stories included in 40 anthologies with over 17 publishers.

Author Links:

Blog: http://nickypeacockauthor.wordpress.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/nickyp_author
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/NickyPeacockYaBooks
Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/Nicky- Peacock/e/B007UH2ACW/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_4
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/list/4958833.Nicky_Peacock
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/nickypauthor/
Tumblr: http://nickypeacock.tumblr.com/




Excerpt:

We ran to the hospital. On the way, we encountered hardly anyone, alive or dead. Where were they all? When we arrived at the hospital car park, I understood. Zombies were pack animals. A massive crowd of them were crammed in and around the main building like they were waiting for a concert to start, all barely paying attention to their surroundings and seemingly swaying against the force of gravity. The other thing was the smell. When watching horror films filled with shuffling zombies, the horror came from their ghastly looks—the reminder that death has a tight grip on us all, well, most of us. But what the filmmakers should focus on—if they could—was the acidic rank odor zombies gave off. They had been dead barely twenty-four hours. It took a normal human body at least thirty- six hours to really start to smell, and that was with a vampire’s heightened senses. These guys smelled like they’d been out in the sun for three weeks covered in rubbish and besieged by wily maggots. They were mostly intact, though. Maybe this hospital had been Zombie Ground Zero. Most had turned so quickly their comrades hadn’t had time to feed.

“Maybe we should try a less populated target.” Nicholas twitched his nose and turned away from me to dry retch.
“Maybe you should grow a pair.”

“Maybe you should act like a lady.” He now had his hands on his hips, squaring up for yet another argument.

“Acting like a lady isn’t going to help now, is it? What do you want me to do? Drop my handkerchief in front of the zombies and watch them fight one another to scoop it up for me? Moron!”

“Always to the ‘nth degree with you, isn’t it?”

“Shut up. Look, the doors are holding, and they’re outside, not inside, which means there must be some people left in there alive to have barricaded this place so tight.”

“Or maybe there are just more zombies in there.”

“Well, there’s definitely a blood bank in there, and that’ll help matters no end!”


Nicholas looked thoughtful then nodded. He of course didn’t want to actually say aloud that I’d had a good idea. “So, how do we get past them?"

I assumed it was a rhetorical question, so I started down to the car park entrance, where most of the zombies were mobbing. I opened the outer door as quietly as possible.

“Ladies first,” Nicholas whispered in my ear.

“I thought we’d agreed I wasn’t a lady.” And with that, I shoved him as hard as I could into the throbbing throng of zombies.

Monday, September 29, 2014

ARC Review: Desperate Reflections by Shay West

Title: Desperate Reflections (Adventures of Alexis Davenport #3)
Author: Shay West
Release Date: 28th August 2014
Publisher: Booktrope Editions
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewIn this final book of the Adventures of Alexis Davenport Series, we find Alex dealing with more drama than ever: her first break-up, her mom's new boyfriend, and attempting to learn the secrets of her "gift" on her own. Desperate to stop Drifter, Alex uses her ability to locate the evil Traveler, only to discover that he lives in her time... And he knows who she is. In a final race against time, Alex must discover Drifter's ultimate plan, stop him, and save her family...all before prom.

Detailed Review: <<I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest feedback>>

The final book in a trilogy is usually the best.

True.

I clearly didn't expect the magnificent wonder that was Desperate Reflections to really be as good as it was.

My apologies to the author for such low expectations when she definitely possesses awesome writing abilities.

Here is some praise to make up for it:

1. Major page-turner. I'll guarantee you that. 

2. Straight-forward- it conveys just the right amount of action in the book and increases the pace of the story. 

3. The ending! Evil villains always meet their end. *evil laugh* (I hope nobody thinks that's a spoiler) The good guys live to save the day!

4. New and awesome characters and some swoony romance that just makes you go 'Ooh la la!!!'

5. A kick-ass and smart heroine, definitely comparable to Tris or Katniss in the modern world. (I mean, she did stop time from being changed)

6. The time period, which was World War II (Hitler!!!) was perfect for a final standoff between Lane and Alex.

7. The song all readers are familiar with. The plot-twist song! Plot twist plot twist plot twist plot twist plot twist!!! 

That should be more than enough to convince you to read the book.

And if it doesn't... Well, I guess it won't do much harm, but really, it would be really nice of you to actually pick up the book and read it, and be as entertained as I was.

The story is more than perfect. Once again, friendship takes priority in the book. Alex's friends are both supportive and loyal, always trying to help her to the best of their abilities, especially Jennifer. Family also plays an equal part in the book, as demonstrated through the strong bonds between the main character and her mother as well as her uncle. 

You may think that time travel is a topic used commonly by too many authors, but West actually gives this topic a brand new feel to it that will definitely keep the pages turning, mixing it with real life problems, as stated in the synopsis. It's more than one person can actually take, but this particular heroine is certainly brave AND angry enough to take on the challenge!

Before you read Desperate Reflections, you should check out the first two books in the trilogy: Dangerous Reflections and Twisted Reflections.

You can check out my review for Dangerous Reflections HERE.

Click HERE for my review of Twisted Reflections!!'

Brief Review: This book definitely proved to be better than it's predecessors. I wasn't disappointed at all and it proved to be a great conclusion to an even greater series. The author doles out contemporary and fantasy elements in just the right amounts to get you hooked to the book! If you're looking for a time-travel read, this trilogy should be added to your list.

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'










QUOTE

I believe this quote suits Alex perfectly,

To be a hero or a heroine, one must give an order to oneself---Simone Weil


Your Reviewer:

Monday, September 15, 2014

BLOGOVERSARY DAY 4: Kate Bassett










We're already more than halfway through! I can't believe it! Today, on the blog, we have Kate Bassett, who has the talent to weave strong emotions into words. Even the title of her debut book, hints at it. Words and Their Meanings!

1. Have you always wanted to be a writer? 


When I was little, I tended to stretch the truth. A lot. Eventually my mom suggested I try writing stories (instead of walking around telling people I had a twin who lived in London, or had managed to sell my brother for a dollar, etc.).  The first "book" I wrote was about a girl who really, really loved her neighbors' golden retriever. The neighbors ended up giving the girl the dog...This was also my first taste of rejection, since I didn't, uh, end up with a new dog. 

Despite this early brush with rejection, I never really thought I'd end up doing anything else.  There were brief stints when other career ideas popped into my head-- at age nine I wanted to be a veterinarian, until my Godfather let me watch a dog's c-section surgery; when I was in high school I thought I should put my arguing skills to work as a lawyer-- but I always returned to writing.  In college, I went through a slew of majors, only to return to Creative Writing. 

My first "real" job after graduating from college was working as a reporter for my town's weekly newspaper, The Harbor Light. Almost 15 years later, I'm the editor there.  So I guess the answer is yes-- writing is the only ambition I've worked hard enough to pursue. 

2. What was the most challenging obstacle when it came to publishing Words and Their Meanings?

Being a debut author is never easy, and I think being a debut author who writes "quiet" and "literary" contemporary stories is especially tough. My agent, Sarah Davies, did an excellent job of forcing me to look at the heart of the story I wanted to tell, and then asked me questions to help build a little element of mystery in before we went on submission. That round of revisions we did together was really difficult, but I don't know that we would have sold the book without it. 

3. What sparked your idea for your Words and Their Meanings?

Bits and pieces of both Anna and Mateo had been floating around my brain for a very long time.  When I started writing Words though, it was a very different book. There were runaways. And guns. And a lot of blue Slurpees.  Sometime between drafts three and five, I started to find the story I wanted to tell.  I knew I wanted to write about grief and art and the creative heart. I just didn't have a darn clue how to get from point A to point B until I'd put almost 250,000 words onto the page (and then deleted every single one of them).

I also had to let go of my strong desire to write about my hometown, Saginaw. I found myself trying to prove the place I grew up-- a place almost broken by the changing auto industry-- could have a fresh start. I actually renamed the town in the book (Grey Iron is an ode to the Grey Iron factory there) to give myself some distance.  Still, I think there is an overarching theme of loss and paralysis and, eventually, hope, that remained in the novel. I think the seed came from Saginaw. 

4. Do you think the contemporary genre has a widespread effect on everyone? If yes, why?

Stories about real life-- little moments, big moments, all the stuff in between-- always hit me the hardest.  That being said, some readers find great science fiction or dystopian novels (or any other genre they love) speak deeper truths than any other kind of book.  It's the great thing about writing and reading, isn't it? Knowing we can all find characters and stories to connect with, words on a page that shift our views and emotions, or simply give us the right dose of escape from reality.

The one thing I will say about contemporary fiction is that it never goes out of style. There might be "mini trends" in the genre, but the heart of what it means to right contemporary is a steady beat throughout the history of books.  I'm glad to believe that will never change.

5. What is the most essential ingredient in writing a good contemporary?

Voice.  To me, that's what it takes to write a standout contemporary novel.  The voice drives the story, and for quiet contemporary especially, it often drives the plot.  There are so many new books that hit bookstore shelves everyday. I always like to skim the first pages and listen for a voice I haven't heard before, or at the very least a voice I know will be interesting and fresh and real enough to keep me reading.

6.  If you had the chance to co-write a book with an author, who would it be and what would it be about?

Well, funny you should ask! My critique partner and dear friend, Alison DeCamp (whose brilliant and hysterical middle grade debut, My Near Death Adventures (99 % true!) coming out in February 2015) have talked about writing a book together for quite some time now.  I'm not sure if it will be middle grade or young adult (probably YA), but we have been tossing ideas around and I would bet we may start putting something on paper sometime in 2015.  Alison's writing is so funny and smart. Her books also have a big heart, so whatever storyline we end up deciding upon, I'd expect a lot of quirky characters and some sort of strange adventure!

7. Why did you choose Patti Smith as someone that Anna would follow in Words and Their Meanings? 

There was something missing about Anna, something I couldn't quite figure out no matter how much I thought about her character.  She needed an anchor. Something or someone to latch onto during this really dark period in her life.  I'd recently read Patti Smith's memoir, Just Kids, and there was something about it...something about the lens through which Patti sees her life and all the losses (and love) she's experienced along the way that just wouldn't quite leave me. 

Fast forward a few weeks. We don't have a television at my house (but believe me, we get plenty of screen time thanks to Netflix and Hulu), and I got sucked into a morning program while visiting with my mom one day. One of the segments had Patti Smith in it; she was revisiting the Chelsea Hotel for the first time since living there with Robert Mapplethorpe.   All of a sudden, I couldn't stop thinking of Patti and Anna together. I loved the idea of Anna grabbing onto a warped image of Patti, who doesn't exactly look like an eternal optimist. We do this in life a lot, I think. As we grow and change, learning to discover someone's full story, trying to understand a whole is made of a sum of all a story or person's parts, it makes a huge difference it the way one perceives the world.

In the end, it just seemed like a great fit. Patti Smith is a true artist. She's talented-- and hit the world stage at a pretty young age-- and she's had a lot of really, really heartbreaking moments in her life. Through all of the loss and pain, she manages to also find beauty and light. I wanted an adult like that to become important to Anna, but also, to be someone who helps her understand the importance of finding her own voice, and her own words.

8. If you could be a character in Words and Their Meanings, who would it be and why?

Selfishly, Mateo all the way!  He's smart and honest. He's talented but not broken by his talents.  He has a stable, loving family and extended family-- that kind of closeness is such a gift-- and has a safety net that helps him understand life and its challenges/responsibilities in a pretty mature way.  Plus, he cooks! 

9. Will you venture into any other genres like fantasy or historical fiction in the future?

I'm pretty grounded in contemporary, realistic fiction. I like reading fantasy, but I think I'll leave the writing to folks who do it really well.  My new manuscript is set in the mid-1990s, although that doesn't exactly count as historical!  

Of course, you never know where some characters or story ideas may lead....So I won't rule anything out as a definite no.  I can say the next two projects I want to work on are both contemporary YA.

10. Why did you pick origami as one of the central themes in Words and Their Meanings?

Art is present in various forms throughout the book, and I wanted Anna's grandfather to have a way to connect to the creative people in his family. As the only very practical, engineer-minded person in his circle of loved ones, origami made perfect sense.  It's an art form that's delicate and strong, very precise, but also, magical.  The idea of one thing-- a sheet of paper-- becoming something else also speaks to me.  The folds of origami have a connotation of keeping, or making, secrets. 

Kate's YA contemporary novel, Words and Their Meanings, released on the 11th of September. To find out more about the author and her books, you can check out her website: http://katebassettbooks.com

Also, you can check out my review for Words and Their Meanings HERE.

And finally, the giveaway! May the odds be in your favour! The giveaway is INTERNATIONAL.

P.S. The next two interviews will be after my blogging hiatus! So sorry for the inconvenience!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


ARC Review: Until You Find Me by Amber Hart

Title: Until You Find Me: A Novel
Author: Amber Hart
Release Date: 11th November 2014
Publisher: Random House Flirt
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewAmber Hart pushes contemporary romance to its wildest limits in this heart-pounding novel, the story of a girl who travels to Africa to protect the legacy of one man . . . and stays for the love of another.

Raven Moore, a twenty-year-old college student from Michigan, feels out of place in the beautiful, treacherous jungles of Cameroon, staying in the habitat where her father gave his life to help protect endangered gorillas. He left home years ago; now Raven refuses to return home until she unravels the truth about his last days.


Raven certainly doesn’t count on crossing paths with a handsome young hunter—especially one as charismatic and intense as Jospin Tondjii. Instantly, she’s hooked. But Jospin is hiding a dark truth: He is the heir to a powerful poaching empire, part of a ruthless black market that is responsible for the dwindling gorilla population.


Their fathers may have been enemies, but Raven and Jospin forge a bond that goes beyond blood, a relationship that is tested as Raven draws closer to the source of her father’s death. Can she and Jospin bear the weight of the secrets of the wild—and the secrets of their pasts? Or will the rain forest destroy them both?


Detailed Review: <<I had the privilege of reading an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review>>

Amber Hart has done it again. And this is only the second book she's written so far. 

Talent. It all comes down to talent. There are many authors who steal people's attention using fantasy worlds or some swoony romance, or even some important historical event-like Markus Zusak's The Book Thief.

This particular author doesn't just do that; she also brings people's attention to a global issue. 

Hart decided to push her writing abilities to breaking point. And that's what makes her different from any author I've read so far.

In Until You Find Me, the author decides to use dramatic irony (Shakespeare loved using this!). We will find out things about Jospin and Raven, things that both wouldn't know about the other. That actually made the suspense more palpable as you read along.

She also decided to add one more element-which I'm sure if Shakespeare was alive, would award her an award for: star-crossed lovers.

This novel may well be the Cameroonian version of Romeo and Juliet.

I personally am an animal lover, so I was quite pleased when I found out that there was also some spotlight for gorillas and how they were being hunted to extinction.

To emphasise this issue, Amber Hart decided to put Raven through an almost-death experience with a gorilla, thus planting a hate for them in the main character. 

And then. Magic. With Hart's writing and a gorilla, Raven's opinion of the gorillas was changed to something positive.

This novel isn't just some swoony romance (but it's one of the good parts); it explores the connection between man and animal. And the capability of animals to change the thoughts of men.

I harboured some hate for Jospin because he was a poacher- a person who hunted gorillas for money.

But then I knew he couldn't be blamed because he simply had no choice. He had been born into it.

What I loved the most was Raven's spirit. She didn't give up after her accident, but instead she grew stronger. That's heroine material for you right there. 

I felt that Raven's father played a big part in the 
She also finds out the truth of her father's death is not as it seems; there's something more sinister in the workings.
And the truth might actually pull both Raven and Jospin apart.

The plot, needless to say, had just the right amount of tension and action AND romance to keep it going.

And then, came the great finale- also known as- The Grand Twist.

All you need to know is there was heartbreak and betrayal involved.

Brief Review: This isn't just any NA contemporary romance. It's unique in its setting in the African jungle- where danger lurks everywhere in the form of animals and men, the subject of interest- how often do you read about gorillas- and even the diverse characters. Until You Find Me is a story of star-crossed lovers in a dangerous place; this novel has considerably raised my expectations for all NA contemporary romances- and it may have been what Amber Hart intended to do.

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'












QUOTE

Since the book is mainly about animals and nature, here's a quote about it,

Until one has loved an animal a part of one's soul remains unawakened---Anatole France

Your Reviewer:

Sunday, September 14, 2014

BLOGGING HIATUS


Image taken from http://themissippimama.wordpress.com

Hi, this is Elicia here! Chloe has gone to college and will be dormant for now. I will also be gone for at least 2 weeks since I'm going on a well-deserved vacation (after all the studying and stress). There won't be any posts except for 2 posts coming tomorrow and then nada. 

Just wanted to notify everyone! I hope you guys will enter the giveaways that have been running on the blog. They've got quite delicious goodies to giveaway! 

Thanks and happy reading!

BLOGOVERSARY DAY 3: Skylar Dorset












Day three! Today we have Skylar Dorset, author of The Girl Who Never Was, a boy about evil faerie queens (and mothers), ogres, wizards and a powerful half-ogre, half-faerie girl.

Once again, there will be a giveaway! You know what that means *wink*

1. What was the first story you've ever written?

When I was six, I wrote a story about two warring factions of squirrels. One faction sent a spy to infiltrate the other faction and she fell in love with one of the enemy squirrels and he with her. All very angsty and dramatic.

2. What is a writing goal you'd like to achieve in the future?

Oooh, this is a good question. I think my goal is to just always get better. I want the next thing I write to always be the best thing I write!



3. Why did you to choose to write about faeries?

I was intrigued by how capricious faeries always are. They show up in a lot of different types of stories, in a lot of different ways, but they’re pretty generally unpredictable and, well, as Selkie’s aunts would say, flighty. I became fascinated by the idea of what kind of society these all-over-the-place creatures would create.



4. What other mythical creatures would you want to write about in your upcoming books?

Oooh, this is a good one. I really want to explore goblins more, and I know lots of people have written about wizards and witches, but that’s because HOW MUCH FUN ARE WIZARDS AND WITCHES??



5. Would you venture into other genres, like contemporary?

I would, actually. I have an idea for a contemporary book that I think would be fun! I have pretty eclectic tastes, so I write a lot of different things.



6. If a character from your book were to come alive one day, who would you want it to be?

I think I’d actually want it to be Will, because I would love to hear all of his stories. I think he has led a really fascinating life.



7. What can we expect from The Boy With the Hidden Name? (A little teaser would be awesome!)

Well. I can say there’s more Selkie, more Kelsey, more Will, and yes, more Ben. J And also more goblins.



8. Who is your all-time favourite author?

J.K. Rowling.



9. If The Girl Who Never Was is going to be adapted into a movie, who do you want to act as Selkie and Ben?

This question never fails to knock me for a loop and I feel like I pick different actors and actresses every single time I’m asked. I just want to give casting directors lots of options! Anyway, currently my picks would be Shelley Hennig and Torrance Coombs.


10. What advice would you give to all aspiring writers out there (including me)?




Write what it makes you happy to write, and your love for it will make the words glow.

To find out more about Skylar Dorset and her books, check out her website: http://www.skylardorset.com

Click HERE to read my review on The Girl Who Never Was!

GIVEAWAY TIME! A copy of The Girl Who Never Was and some swag! It's definitely something I don't want to miss! International!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Skylar’s first story was a tale of romantic intrigue involving two feuding factions of squirrels. Think “Romeo & Juliet” but with bushy tails and added espionage. She was seven.

Since that time, Skylar’s head has been filled with lots of characters and lots of drama. She is delighted to be able to share some of it with all of you now, because, honestly, it was getting pretty loud and crowded in there.

Skylar is a born-and-bred New Englander, which is why Boston was a natural setting for her debut novel, THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS. Skylar shares her home with a cardboard cutout of the Tenth Doctor, lots of Mardi Gras beads from the time she spent living in New Orleans, and a harp she’s supposed to be teaching herself to play. She’d like to get a dog.