Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that features upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:


Title: Of Scars and Stardust
Author: Andrea Hannah
Release Date: 8th October 2014
Publisher: Flux
Find on: Goodreads


After  her little sister mysteriously vanishes, seventeen-year-old Claire Graham has a choice to make: stay snug in her little corner of Manhattan with her dropout boyfriend, or go back to Ohio to face the hometown tragedy she's been dying to leave behind.

But the memories of that night still haunt her in the city, and as hard as she tries to forget what her psychiatrist calls her "delusions," Claire can't seem to escape the wolf's eyes or the blood-speckled snow. Delusion or reality, Claire knows she has to hold true to the most important promise she's ever made: to keep Ella safe. She must return to her sleepy hometown in order to find Ella and keep her hallucinations at bay before they strike again. But time is quickly running out, and as Ella's trail grows fainter, the wolves are becoming startlingly real.

Now Claire must deal with her attraction to Grant, the soft-spoken boy from her past that may hold the secret to solving her sister's disappearance, while following the clues that Ella left for only her to find. Through a series of cryptic diary entries, Claire must unlock the keys to Ella's past—and her own—in order to stop another tragedy in the making, while realizing that not all things that are lost are meant to be found.(less)


I just got approved for an ARC of this book of NetGalley, so I can't wait to dig in!!! It seems intriguing, especially the title and synopsis. That cover is beautiful without even trying!!!

What are you waiting on this week? Comment below!

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Teaser Tuesday #3




Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



This week, I'll be sharing a teaser from an ARC I've just finished reading- The Girl from The Well by Rin Chupeco. 

Here is the snippet:

I am the fate that people fear to become. I am what happens to good persons, and to bad persons, and to everyone in between.

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

Title: Panic
Author: Lauren Oliver
Release Date: 4th March 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Find onGoodreads

Quick Review: Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.


Detailed Review: I have seen great feedback for Panic and some bad ones. Three of my friends had read it and said it was boring. I've seen one star reviews criticising the fact that Panic was a game set in a CONTEMPORARY, not in a dystopian world, questioning its existence and the two-dimensionality (if such a word exists) of the characters.

The thing is: if you expect Panic to be like The Hunger Games, you will be disappointed. First, it is nothing like THG- THG is dystopian; Panic is a contemporary. Second: the characters are NOT Katniss and Peeta and the rest. There are no different districts and the game is not a punishment. Instead, it is a reward.

It's just a bunch of teenagers competing in a game decided by two judges for a price of over $50,000. 

I admit that for the first half of the book I was bored out of my mind. I was on the verge of DNFing this book. But I still decided to read on because you'll never know, right? There were still some good parts, so that gave me a reason to not give up.

And then came the huge BOOM. It's like the author decided to save the best for last. The second half of the book suddenly became alive and I got a glimpse of my favourite author once again- the author who wrote the Delirium trilogy and Before I Fall. 

There was such a huge change in a few turn of the pages that I had to make sure that I was really reading Panic.

And then came the twists.

One by one, they come hurtling down like an avalanche as you climb the mountain that is Panic.

It didn't matter that the characters weren't really in depth; they still somehow stood out from each other with their pasts, and roles in the game. I think that's what matters most. Character development was good as well. It was definitely well-planned. The characters only lacked some depth.

The story itself was simple enough. First loves, family, challenges, musings about life (and fear)- these are what a contemporary usually needs to succeed. I call it the Ways-To-Write-A-Good-Contemporary recipe.

Brief Review: Although Oliver did seem lost in the first half of the book, she picked up again in the second half, making it worthwhile to endure the suffering i had to go through to reach the good parts. What's important in the book is not the game, it's the way the characters develop and change throughout the process. I admire the author's bravery for piecing two elements dangerously together-which was a contemporary with a Hunger-Games style game-but she nailed it with her competent writing skills and thought-provoking twists.

Final Rating: 4/5 'Really Liked It!'










QUOTE:


 Since Panic is all about fear,

Always do what you are afraid to do--- Ralph Waldo Emerson


Your Reviewer:

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that features upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:


Title: They All Fall Down
Author: Roxanne St. Claire
Release Date: 14th October 2014
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Find onGoodreads


Pretty Little Liars meets Final Destination in this YA psychological thriller that will have readers' hearts racing right till the very end!

Every year, the lives of ten girls at Vienna High are transformed.

All because of the list.

Kenzie Summerall can't imagine how she's been voted onto a list of the hottest girls in school, but when she lands at number five, her average life becomes dazzling. Doors open to the best parties, new friends surround her, the cutest jock in school is after her.

This is the power of the list. If you're on it, your life changes.

If you're on it this year? Your life ends.

That's quite a short, but powerful synopsis. I first saw this book featured on a Waiting in Wednesday post and I was immediately pulled in by the title and the cover. I don't think I've ever heard of such a book like They All Fall Down, but I'll certainly give it a try!!!

What are you waiting on this week? Comment below!

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Teaser Tuesday #2




Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week, I'll be sharing a teaser from John Green's The Fault in Our Stars. I'm not sure whether to pick a funny line or heartbreaking line. Honestly.

Finally, I came to a decision:

'I digress, but here's the rub: The dead are visible only in the terrible lidless eye of memory. The living, thank heaven, retain the ability to surprise and to disappoint.'


Friday, July 11, 2014

ARC Review: Sweet Unrest by Lisa Maxwell

Title: Sweet Unrest
Author: Lisa Maxwell
Release Date: 8th October 2014
Publisher: Flux
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewLucy Aimes has always been practical. But try as she might, she can’t come up with a logical explanation for the recurring dreams that have always haunted her. Dark dreams. Dreams of a long-ago place filled with people she shouldn’t know…but does.

When her family moves to a New Orleans plantation, Lucy’s dreams become more intense, and her search for answers draws her reluctantly into the old city’s world of Voodoo and mysticism. There, Lucy finds Alex, a mysterious boy who behaves as if they’ve known each other forever. Lucy knows Alex is hiding something, and her rational side doesn’t want to be drawn to him. But she is.

As she tries to uncover Alex’s secrets, a killer strikes close to home, and Lucy finds herself ensnared in a century-old vendetta. With the lives of everyone she loves in danger, Lucy will have to unravel the mystery of her dreams before it all comes to a deadly finish.

Detailed Review <<I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review>>

When I read that first sentence, it didn't prepare me for what was due to come. Even countless re-readings of the synopsis didn't help soften the blows this book dealt me.

One thing was obvious though: this was about reincarnation and Voodoo. I already knew that from my first glimpse of the synopsis. 

How these two elements came together though, was a different story. I twisted my mind in every way to see how the pieces fit into the puzzle, but I couldn't figure it out. Not as well as Maxwell, anyway. 

Everything is not a coincidence in this book; it is all planned out from the start. This is what a really good book needs: some prior planning before plunging into writing and some significant character development (especially the main characters) throughout the book.

Sweet Unrest had both. That means that it's a really good book. 

Honestly, I didn't expect this book to be this good, because there was quite an ordinary first line and first paragraph (I judge books by first lines and paragraphs), not enough to capture someone's fancy for long.

Until you read the end of the prologue. That's when it sparks your interest. 

My sole advice when reading this book is to read on-yes, even when you're bored- because you'll always discover something at each turn of the page. You wouldn't want to miss any of it.

I'm talking about the plot twists here. There are a few. Fair warning: they're not light ones; they pack a punch. 

The characters had interesting developments throughout the book, but that was one of the plot twists (hopefully that's not considered a spoiler)

This book had a considerable amount of fear factor in it, because it's Voodoo. Yet, the author does mention that it's not all bad, the story itself does highlight that the art can be used for ulterior motives.

The romance between Alex and Lucy was certainly great, but I thought more attention could be given to their relationship in the present, not in the past. This did somehow make the romance seem slightly unnatural, despite the fact that they have met each other in a different life at a different time.

But... Everything other than that was great.

The writing in this book is straight to the point, though Maxwell loves leading you off the safe path to dark places, so beware... She even likes to include some meaningful musings about life (ahhhhhhh). 

Another point scorer is the author's inclusion of family. She emphasis throughout the book how important family really is. I just loved Lucy's brother, T.J. He is the absolute cutest. And the prologue even mentioned her parents and how they met (that's actually quite interesting but nothing compared to the rest of the story)

Did I mention that I swooned when I read that Alex had a French accent (OMG THAT IS HOT) and that his full name was Alexandre Jourdain (double OMG)? French guys are seriously the best.

The ending wasn't a cliffhanger, but honestly it was still as heartbreaking as if there was a cliffhanger. You get what I mean. But it was good though, in a way that it gives your imagination full reign of what will happen to the characters in the future. It isn't just restricted by what the author gives you, it's up to you what happens. That's what I liked the most.

Brief Review: Maxwell successfully fits two very different elements together into a well-written book. She gives Voodoo a near insight- she transforms the art into something beautiful and horrifying at the same time. She not only does it with talent; she does it with amazing characters and storytelling on her part. I must say that Sweet Unrest will most definitely clear a path for the author to start of her writing career!!!

Final Rating: 4/5 'Really Liked It!'











QUOTE

This somehow reminded me of Alex and Lucy's first meeting in Le Ciel

Sometimes the heart sees what is invisible to the eye---H. Jackson Brown, Jr.


Your Reviewer:



TGIF- Feature & Follow Friday #209

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

QUESTION OF THE WEEK: If you had a time machine (i.e. a TARDIS), where would you go?

I'd go back to the Roaring Twenties in the USA! That's the easiest answer!!! Also, I'd want to travel back to the 1940s, when World War II was going on so I could see Anne Frank and Hitler; even though it's awful-I know-I'd still love to study more about life then. I'm a history junkie, if you didn't already know :P

What about you? Comment below!!! Don't forget to comment if you are a new or old follower!