Friday, November 21, 2014

Review: Bulletproof (A Songbird Novel #2) by Melissa Pearl

Title: Bulletproof (A Songbird Novel #2)
Author: Melissa Pearl
Release Date: 20th November 2014
Publisher: Evatopia Press
Find on: Goodreads

Quick Review: Morgan Pritchett doesn't need anyone. Strong-willed and confident, she's the master of organizing and looking after everyone around her. In her mind, she's bulletproof.

But she has one weakness - men. She can't seem to live without them, yet is unable to find her perfect match. After yet another break up, Morgan promises her sister and best friend that she'll write off men for the rest of the year...but then she meets Sean Jaxon.

Sean Jaxon has worked hard to become a Hollywood actor, scoring minor roles and slowly making a name for himself as an action sidekick. After a chance encounter with the stunning Morgan Pritchett, he decides to take a risk and put his dancing skills to the test by signing on for the lead role in Superstar, a TV musical. He never thought he'd reconnect with the girl who urged him to ignore his manager and be honest with himself, but when Morgan shows up on the set as a production assistant, he realizes he's found his ultimate weakness - her.

Their passion for dance and music will bring them together, but will their relationship be able to withstand the forces determined to pull them apart? As Morgan comes face-to-face with her long-buried demons and Sean decides just how much he's willing to risk for love, these two songbirds discover something...they're not as bulletproof as they thought.

Detailed Review: *I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review*

I didn't know I had missed the characters from the series so much until I started Bulletproof.

Morgan had always been one of my favourite characters since the start of the series. She was strong, confident, brave- basically the things that make a good character.

In Bulletproof, we get a deeper glimpse into her character as well as her past, which has caused her to develop into a control freak. She always takes care of everyone, but completely disregards herself. That job is usually delegated to her boyfriends.

The love interest, Sean, was a really easy character to warm up to as well. I love music and sometimes dancing (as long as I'm not too bad at it), so I could relate with him very well.

The chemistry between the two is definitely smoking hot and electrifying, but. Yes, there is a but. But it, sadly, wasn't as swoon-worthy as the romance between Cole and Ella in Fever. I still ship Sean and Morgan of course, but not with the level of intensity I do with Ella and Cole. They may be one of my favourite couples, ever.

Honestly, I didn't know who to hate more in the book, the main characters, or the minor ones like Morgan's evil boss, Travis and Sean's manager, Rhonda. They were equally frustrating, which I must reward numerous applause for. It is hard to create such a bond between character and reader. Love-hate relationships with Morgan and Sean weren't absent at all during the whole course of the book.

I believe that character development is very important for a book to thrive; Bulletproof didn't lack it, it was filled to the brim with it. I liked that it focused on Jody as well, hinting at a sequel. *wink*
What I loved the most was the fact that family had been an important factor in the book. Both the main characters value family, so much so that Morgan was forced to give up her dreams to become a dancer after her mother left so she could take care of her family. Morgan's grandmother forced her to reconsider her opinion of being truly bulletproof and Sean's mother persuaded him to fight for true love. This is the power of family that the author managed to capture in Bulletproof.

The playlist for Bulletproof was perfect and suited the story way too well. I can't say how much it means to me because I love music so much. It's good to read about characters who are passionate about the same things as you

Did I also mention that the covers for this series are as hot as the books themselves?

Note: There is a sequel coming up, featuring Jody, my favourite character in the books so far. Yay!!!

Brief Review: This series is one of the few that shows off the wonders of music- how life-changing it is and its relationship with love. I don't think there wasn't anything I didn't like about Bulletproof; it definitely made Titanium run through my head while I was reading it! Music lovers will love- no, devour- this book.

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'

Your Reviewer:
Elicia

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Release Day Blitz: Bulletproof (Songbird #2) by Melissa Pearl

Bulletproof by
Melissa Pearl
Release Day Blitz

November 20, 2014
Morgan Pritchett doesn't need anyone. Strong-willed and
confident, she's the master of organizing and looking after everyone around
her. In her mind, she's bulletproof. But she has one weakness – men. She can't
seem to live without them, yet is unable to find her perfect match. After yet
another break up, Morgan promises her sister and best friend that she'll write
off men for the rest of the year. But then she meets Sean Tate.


Sean Tate has worked hard to become a Hollywood
actor, scoring minor roles and slowly making a name for himself as an action
sidekick. After a chance encounter with the stunning Morgan Pritchett, he
decides to take a risk and put his dancing skills to the test by signing on for
the lead role in Superstar, a TV musical. He never thought he'd reconnect with
the girl who urged him to ignore his manager and be honest with himself, but
when Morgan shows up on the set as a production assistant, he realizes he's
found his ultimate weakness — her.


Their passion for dance and music will bring
them together, but will their relationship be able to withstand the forces
determined to pull them apart? As Morgan comes face to face with her demons and
Sean decides just how much he's willing to risk for love, these two lovers
discover something... they're not as bulletproof as they thought.

BUY IT
AT:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00NN0RU3O/ref=mp_s_a_1_13?qid=1416403566&sr=8-13&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70

~*~ABOUT at
MELISSA PEARL~*~

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New
Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as
Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around
North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in
China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but
writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the
opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in
November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of
books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book was
released in February 2014 - True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very
excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under
her own name as well. She has six books releasing in 2014 and is excited about
writing each and every one of them.

"I am passionate about writing. It
stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I
can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can
laugh, cry and fall in love."

GIVEAWAY:

Friday, November 14, 2014

COVER REVEAL: The Angel Killer by Lisa Voisin





I am super excited to reveal the awesome cover for THE ANGEL KILLER, the second book in Lisa Voisin's The Watcher Saga, and to share an excerpt from the book.

There is also an amazing giveaway included with the reveal for a copy of THE WATCHER, the first book in the series, or a pre-order copy of THE ANGEL KILLER and a $10 Amazon Gift Card.


The Cover Revealed


Coming January 5, 2015

Description

Now that she’s found him again, all Mia Crawford wants is some downtime with her fallen angel boyfriend, Michael. But the call of duty keeps him away—from school and from her—with more demons to smite than ever.

When Michael is mortally wounded by a cursed sword, Mia must perform an ancient blood ritual to save him. But the spell exacts a price. Haunted by visions of war, torture, and despair, Mia discovers the world is in more danger than she ever imagined. Behind the scenes, an evil adversary pulls all the strings.

After redemption, there’s Hell to pay.

Add to Goodreads


About Lisa Voisin


A Canadian-born author, Lisa Voisin spent her childhood daydreaming and making up stories, but it was her love of reading and writing in her teens that drew her to Young Adult fiction.

Lisa is also a technical writer, a meditation teacher, and the leader of the Young Writer’s Club, a local writing group for teens in her home town. A self-proclaimed coffee lover, she can usually be found writing in a local cafĂ©. When she's not writing, you'll find her meditating or hiking in the mountains to counteract the side effects of drinking too much caffeine!

Though she’s lived in several cities across Canada, she currently lives in Vancouver, B.C. with her fiancĂ© and their two cats.


The Excerpt

Michael leaned against the building’s stucco wall and rested his hands on my hips. Light from the store cast a warm gleam in his crystal blue eyes. He leaned in, and the draw to be close to him was a gravitational force. “Hello,” he said.

“Hello.” I had to get a grip. It’d been so long since we’d talked, I tried to focus on all the things I wanted to tell him. “We went to see Fatima.” His fingers caressed the sides of my waist, sending happy tingles through me. “You know, in her store…” To my own ears, my voice sounded raspy. I trembled.

“Cold?” He drew me closer, his mouth crooking into a grin.

Lost in him, I forgot all about Fatima. “You know damn well that’s not it.” I twined my arms around his back and touched the spot between his shoulder blades where his wings connected. Its warmth thawed my fingers.

He leaned in and brushed his lips along my jaw line. “Thought that was just me,” he whispered, and his breath tickled my neck. “I’ve wanted to do this for three days.”

Our lips met, and I melted into him, not caring that we were on the sidewalk, outside a deli with families shopping inside. Nor did I care that, being an angel, he had to follow very strict rules about contact with humans—especially contact of the relationship variety. Angels had the ability to enthrall humans with their touch, something Michael had to constantly keep in check. But I didn’t have to be enthralled to want to kiss him. That was my own doing. All that mattered right now was that he was here. With me.

He pulled me closer and the buzz of his energy filled me heart and soul, blocking out the rest of the world. My hands sought warmth under his leather jacket and found bare skin. I could feel the shiver from my touch surge through him. His mouth pressing more firmly against mine, he brushed a hand along my cheek and tangled it in my hair.

A dreamlike blur of light and color filled my thoughts. But then the image shifted to blood. His.

The Giveaway

The reveal includes an awesome giveaway to ONE WINNER for a print copy of THE WATCHER (US/CA/UK) OR a pre-order copy of THE ANGEL KILLER (when available) AND a $10 Amazon Gift Card.

Enter in the Rafflecopter below...



a Rafflecopter giveaway


About The Watcher

Series: The Watcher Saga #1

Release date: March 4, 2013

Publisher: Inkspell Publishing

Pages: 556

Formats: Paperback, eBook

DESCRIPTION

Millennia ago, he fell from heaven for her.

Can he face her without falling again?

Fascinated with ancient civilizations, seventeen-year-old Mia Crawford dreams of becoming an archaeologist. She also dreams of wings—soft and silent like snow—and somebody trying to steal them.

When a horrible creature appears out of thin air and attacks her, she knows Michael Fontaine is involved, though he claims to know nothing about it. Secretive and aloof, Michael evokes feelings in Mia that she doesn’t understand. Images of another time and place haunt her. She recognizes them—but not from any textbook.

In search of the truth, Mia discovers a past life of forbidden love, jealousy and revenge that tore an angel from Heaven and sent her to an early grave. Now that her soul has returned, does she have a chance at loving that angel again? Or will an age-old nemesis destroy them both?

Ancient history is only the beginning.




The Trailer



Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas





Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: 5th May 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Find on: Goodreads

When 19-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it ... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
 

I love Sarah J. Maas- she really is an incredible author. And seeing that my birthday is 4 days later than the publication date, maybe this could my birthday present? *wink wink*

Monday, November 3, 2014

ARC Review: Invisible (The Twixt #2) by Dawn Metcalf

Title: Invisible (The Twixt #2)
Author: Dawn Metcalf
Release Date: 29th September 2014
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewSome things lie beneath the surface. 

Invisible. 

With the power to change everything. 

Joy Malone wants it all—power, freedom and the boyfriend who loves her. Yet when an unstoppable assassin is hired to kill her, Joy learns that being the girl with the Sight comes with a price that might be too high to pay. Love will be tested, lives will be threatened, and everyone Joy knows and cares about will be affected by her decision to stand by Ink or to leave the Twixt forever. 

Her choice is balanced on a scalpel's edge and the consequences will be more life-altering than anyone can guess.


Detailed Review: *I received an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

As far as faerie books come, none will ever reach the same level of awesome Invisible did.

If you've read my review on the first book of the series, Indelible, you'll know that I adored it: its characters, its world, its story, its ideas, everything. 

It's sequel certainly did not disappoint. In Invisible, the tension is higher than before. An assassin is out to kill Joy, and this means that her friends and family are in danger. Her relationship with Ink is put on the line when she is forced to make a decision. 

In one of my status updates on Goodreads, I vaguely remember adding that 'This is like Ink by Amanda Sun all over again.' 

Meaning that there is definitely a heartbreaking part in there somewhere. If you've read Ink, you'll get what I mean. Just be prepared. That's all I'll say.

Metcalf's world of faeries once again fascinated me. Indelible barely covered the whole of the Twixt. Invisible gives us a more in-depth experience. It's more dangerous than you could ever think, and with a group that rebels against Joy's existence, her safety is more at risk than you could ever think.

There are several noteworthy character developments in the book. What I liked was how Metcalf didn't just focus on the main characters, it also focused on characters like Joy's dad and his girlfriend Shelley, as well as her best friend Monica. They played a role as vital as Joy, and I love the author for that.

Romance is present throughout the book, no worries. It goes to a deeper level than in Indelible, which is another point-scorer because I feel that this also demonstrates a change in Ink's character.

Speaking of characters, my favourite in Invisible has to be Filly. She makes more appearances in this book than the first book and I believe she is one of those characters- who even though are meant to only be minor ones- drive the story, and the ending. She was also a friend to Joy, which I felt she really needed. 

What I'm trying to say can be summed up in four words: She's a kick-ass character.

Last but not least, plenty of plot twists await. They're ALL as mind-blowing as the last, so I suggest you sit back and enjoy. Please ensure that you are covered in enough pillows (and have a pet with you if possible) while reading this book because damn, you're gonna need something to cushion your shock and some fluffiness would do the trick.

Endings can be the best and worst things in the whole wide world. Invisible, fortunately, proved to have the best.

Brief Review: Faeries are seen in a whole new light in the sequel to an amazing book. Not only does Metcalf's writing evokes intrigue and awe in the reader, she manages the following: swoon-worthy romance, well-rounded characters, and some shock-invoking twists- all in one book. I can't tell you how much I need to read the next book, but I can tell you this, it's going to be awesome and magnificent in all of its entirety.

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'












QUOTE:


 I have no idea why, but I thought this quote described Joy in the book properly,

Courage is grace under pressure---Ernest Hemingway

Your Reviewer:


Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Blog Tour + Review: The Empress Chronicles by Suzy Vitello

Published by Diversion Books


Title: The Empress Chronicles (The Empress Chronicles #1)
Author: Suzy Vitello
Release Date: 4th September 2014
Publisher: Diversion Books

In this dazzling first book in the EMPRESS CHRONICLES series by the author of THE MOMENT BEFORE, one courageous girl seeks keys to the past to unlock the future...

When city girl Liz is banished to a rural goat farm on the outskirts of Portland, the 15-year-old feels her life spiraling out of control.  She can’t connect to her father or his young girlfriend, and past trauma adds to her sense of upheaval.  The only person who seems to keep her sane is a troubled boy who is fighting his own demons.  But all of this changes in one historical instant.
*
One-hundred fifty years earlier, Elisabeth of Bavaria has troubles of her own.  Her childhood is coming to a crashing end, and her destiny is written in the form of a soothsaying locket that has the ability to predict true love.  But evil is afoot in the form of a wicked enchantress who connives to wield the power of the locket for her own destructive ends.
*
When Liz finds a timeworn diary, and within it a locket, she discovers the secrets and desires of the young Bavarian princess who will one day grow up to be the legendary Empress of Austria. It is in the pages of the diary that these two heroines will meet, and it is through their interwoven story that Liz will discover she has the power to rewrite history—including her own...


Readers of books like Rachel Harris’s MY SUPER SWEET SIXTEENTH CENTURY will love THE EMPRESS CHRONICLES


Detailed Review: *I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review of the book for the blog tour*

OK, first, I must admit something. I chose to enter the blog tour for The Empress Chronicles because of one thing (amongst many other things): the cover. Yes, I'm ashamed of that. 

After reading the blurb, my desire to read this book intensified- oh come on, who wouldn't love a good historical fiction?

I wasn't disappointed and disappointed at the same time. 

My most heartbreaking moment wasn't to do with any of the characters or even the story, it was the grammar in this book, which was unbearable at times. It had me wanting to take a marker pen and scribble the right form of a word in there. 

The story was written in two voices, Liz's and Sisi's (Elisabeth). It was actually two lifetimes in one story, but they each had a connecting point somewhere in each other's life. This was definitely what I liked.

When I read the blurb, I was expecting more of a time-travel story, but this was different, original- something I like and need. 

I honestly preferred Sisi over Liz, although Liz played an essential part in her counterpart's life. I was happy the OCD part wasn't written too out of character, but I overall had the impression that she was a weak and helpless person. This needs to be changed in the sequel immediately. Sisi was more daring and was pretty much the voice that drove the novel, despite Liz's part of the story. Cory, Liz's love interest, was really pushed to the sidelines, in my opinion, even though he did help with Liz's recovery. It wasn't that I didn't like Liz and Cory; they were good enough, but they could be more.


Having two heroines is an incredibly hard thing to do, so I decided to be lenient about it. AND having a too-perfect main character wouldn't do either, so yes- I would prefer Liz to be flawed than to be perfect. Sisi, please please stay the way you are, in the sequel. That's all I'll say.

The romance in the book wasn't heavy, and I'm not going to fault it because having lots of romance would actually ruin the story. The subject in the book isn't just about the romance; it's also about family and history and much much more. A romance-driven book would not be suitable for a storyline like The Empress Chronicles'.

Fortunately, the writing style was one I liked. It was descriptive, but not too descriptive, not giving unnecessary details to the reader but drawing him/her into the story all the same. It engages the reader well. 

I almost forgot to comment on the twists; some of them were inconsequential, but some were really well-written to the point where I would give the author a round of applause. 

The Empress Chronicles did follow the unsaid trend in the YA book industry though, which frustrated and delighted me all at the same times- a cliffhanger that was unexpected. One that would beg me to read the sequel.

Brief Review: Elisabeth's story is one of intrigue and magic, mixed in with some much-needed spunk; Liz's story is one of love and family. The author skilfully unites them together with just one factor: unfortunate circumstances that is conveyed through a journal. This is what makes me hold this book at higher regards than I would have. If only the novel was more polished, and the characters more likeable, a 5 star rating would have been guaranteed on the spot.

Final Rating: 4/5 'Liked It'

QUOTE

This seemed an accurate description of the magical connection between Liz and Elisabeth,

Time flies over us, but leaves its shadow behind---Nathaniel Hawthorne

Your Reviewer:















About The Author
Suzy Vitello is a proud founding member of a critique group recently dubbed The Hottest Writing Group in Portland, and her short stories have won fellowships and prizes (including the Atlantic Monthly Student Writing Award, and an Oregon Literary Arts Fellowship).
Twitter: @suzy_vitello

Waiting on Wednesday: The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Title: The Secrets We Keep
Author: Trisha Leaver
Release Date: 28th April 2015
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Girroux (BYR)
Find on: Goodreads

A girl takes over her twin sister's identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters.


Ella and Maddy Lawton are identical twins. Ella has spent her high school years living in popular Maddy's shadows, but she has never been envious of Maddy. In fact, she's chosen the quiet, safe confines of her sketchbook over the constant battle for attention that has defined Maddy's world.



When—after a heated argument—Maddy and Ella get into a tragic accident that leaves her sister dead, Ella wakes up in the hospital surrounded by loved ones who believe she is Maddy. Feeling responsible for Maddy's death and everyone's grief, Ella makes a split-second decision to pretend to be Maddy. Soon, Ella realizes that Maddy's life was full of secrets. Caught in a web of lies, Ella is faced with two options—confess her deception or live her sister's life.

You had me at 'emotionally charged'. I've developed a sudden craving for emotional books (call it the John Green effect) and this seems to fit the bill. Any cover judger's got to love that cover too! DUH.