Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Truly, Madly, DeadlyTitle: Truly, Madly, Deadly
Author: Hannah Jayne
Release Date: 16th July 2013
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Sawyer Dodd has it all. She's a star track athlete, choir soloist, and A-student. And her boyfriend is the handsome all-star Kevin Anderson. But behind the medals, prom pictures, and perfect smiles, Sawyer finds herself trapped in a controlling, abusive relationship with Kevin. When he dies in a drunk-driving accident, Sawyer is secretly relieved. She's free. Until she opens her locker and finds a mysterious letter signed by "an admirer" and printed with two simple words: "You're welcome."

The description sends chills down my spine. It's so creepy when you find out an accident is not one at all. When it comes to mysteries like this, I will be putting it in my TBR list straight-away!  I love the title, the tagline of the book and the cover. They're so mysterious and completely suits the story!

Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway: The Watcher by Lisa Voisin

The WatcherTitle: The Watcher
Author: Lisa Voisin
Release Date: 4th March 2013
Publisher: InkSpell Publishing
Pages: 541
ISBN: 9780985656225

Find it: Goodreads | Amazon |Amazon.CA |B&N | Indie Bound | Inkspell | Kobo | Chapters / Indigo

Quick Review: Millennia ago, he fell from heaven for her.
Can he face her without falling again?

Fascinated with ancient civilizations, seventeen-year-old Mia Crawford dreams of becoming an archaeologist. She also dreams of wings—soft and silent like snow—and somebody trying to steal them.

When a horrible creature appears out of thin air and attacks her, she knows Michael Fontaine is involved, though he claims to know nothing about it. Secretive and aloof, Michael evokes feelings in Mia that she doesn’t understand. Images of another time and place haunt her. She recognizes them—but not from any textbook.

In search of the truth, Mia discovers a past life of forbidden love, jealousy and revenge that tore an angel from Heaven and sent her to an early grave. Now that her soul has returned, does she have a chance at loving that angel again? Or will an age-old nemesis destroy them both?

Ancient history is only the beginning.

Detailed Review:

*SPOILER ALERT* (Seriously, if you don't want to know what happens in the end, don't read it. I just always like spoiling books for people in my reviews. It's become a habit.)

To me the book went along the lines of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but even then, I loved it: the cover, the characters, the plot.

The story starts one morning, when she sees a dead man in the park, and is immediately chased by a creature that seems like a dog. When she manages to escape, she spies a young man loitering in the park. 

The man appears in Mia's school and introduces himself to be Michael Fontaine.

That's when everything changes. There is something familiar about Michael, and every time when they come close to something that might mean more than being friends, he pushes her away. But even then, they already have an attraction towards each other. 

Then Damiel appears. He is seductive and sexy. Every girl in the school wants him, that is with the exception of Mia. She seems to sense something repulsive about him and stays away. After one of her friends committed suicide, she knows that it has something to do with Damiel because she had seen him whispering into her friends' ear earlier.

That's when Damiel decides to approach Mia. He asks her out for a date, and on the night of the date, Michael appears, after days of ignoring her.

Both of them want of her, but for what purposes?

Michael loves her. Damiel needs her for evil intents.

Michael is an angel. Damiel is a demon.

But what would surprise readers the most is Mia's ability to turn Damiel back into what he was: an angel. And he was thankful for it.

I cried when I read that part.

Sorry for being emotional lately. I guess books can be the cause of depression too. But besides crying, I was also left speechless. Like that:


Or like this:

Brief Review: I was left with nothing else to say. Honestly. I can't even find a word to describe the book. It's that good. So no missing it out. And the fun part is soon to come!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'


To both Michael and Mia,

“I guess by now I should know enough about loss to realize that you never really stop missing someone-you just learn to live around the huge gaping hole of their absence.” ---- Alyson Noel

Your Reviewer:

About the Author:

A Canadian-born author, Lisa Voisin spent her childhood daydreaming and making up stories, but it was her love of reading and writing in her teens that drew her to Young Adult fiction.

A self-proclaimed coffee lover, Lisa can usually be found writing in a local café. When she's not writing, you'll find her meditating or hiking in the mountains to counteract the side effects of drinking too much caffeine!

Though she’s lived in several cities across Canada, she currently lives in Vancouver, B.C. with her fiancĂ© and their two cats.

Find her: Twitter | Facebook | Website | Blog

Links (if the shortened versions don’t paste into your blog post):

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lvoisin @lvoisin

The Book Trailer:

Rafflecopter Giveaway:
Lisa Voisin and Inkspell Publishing are giving away print (US/Canada/UK) and ebook (INT) copies of The Watcher  as well as this lovely angel wing necklace!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 26, 2013

Review: The Underground Witch by Debbie Dee

The Underground Witch (Incenaga Trilogy, #2)Title: The Underground Witch
Author: Debbie Dee
Release Date: 2nd May 2013
Publisher: Dolce Books
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review:
As the last of the Incenaga Witches, Emmeline has been tortured and forced to use her power to kill. But unlike the Incenagas before her, she has survived. With her freedom restored, she should feel safe, invincible even. After all, she has the protection of Prince Erick’s army and a power strong enough to obliterate any enemy. Yet Emmeline lives in fear for the next person who will try to control her, and no one can seem to find the tyrant threatening to claim her.

Until it’s too late.

With everything on the line, and the enemy at her throat, will Emmeline be able to use her power like never before? Even if it kills her?

In The Underground Witch, the second novel of the Incenaga Trilogy, Debbie Dee delivers enough adventure, heartbreak, and suspense to captivate readers at every turn.

Detailed Review: <ARC received by the author>

If you don't want to miss out on the first book of the Incenaga trilogy, you can find a review of The Last Witch here.

I don't know what to say. I seriously don't know. It's too much for me. But I can't just stop, right?

That's how good the book is, if it leaves me with nothing to say except for this,


But of course I must still give you some hints on the story. 

Emmeline and Erick are happy. They are about to have a wedding and they can't wait. That remains. until they receive a letter from a messenger. It is from Volarcus, a city who claims to have assembled a large army to rival Dolmerti's strong one. And they want one thing, or person.


If she doesn't go with them, the whole of Dolmerti could possibly die because of her selfishness to stay. She is cast in a dilemma. 

Meanwhile, from a strange kingdom, Griet, the King and twenty soldiers, including his deadliest assassin, Demyan and an unknown Dolmertian have travelled the sea to claim his prize. Once again, I must say her name.


He wishes to use her to expand his kingdom. And he is the one who sent the letter. This is the truth:


When Emmeline comes to face with the King, Tiergan, she finds her courage and determination tested to her limit. Her love for Erick made her leave.

I felt like crying when I read that.

She is tortured, beaten, humiliated but she survives. In Griet, she discovers a secret about the Incenagas which affects her in every way. 


There is Orinda, the first Incenaga to come into being and there is Flora, Emmeline's grandmother.

And there's a cute little boy called O'fin. He's not a witch. I just thought he was really brave for a nine-year old. I loved him. 

I am not telling the whole story here, there are more complicated things in it. And you should really read it for yourself. I can't just give everything away.

And I'll just end with this:

Still the best witch's trilogy ever! And Emmeline is the best heroine EVER! I mean it!!!!

Brief Review: Wow. Wow. Wow. WOW. I'm sorry but that's the only thing I can say when I think of this book. Great job, Debbie. Seriously. I am too stunned to think of anything else to say. But if you read the book, you'll really wish you were more like Emmeline. She's the best heroine ever!!!! And can I just say that the cover once again makes me drool? Now I'm talking...

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'


Because of Emmeline's courage and determination, I dedicate this quote to the book, and on behalf of her, to you:

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” 
― Lao Tzu

Your Reviewer:

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #146

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

Is there a song that reminds you of a book? or vice versa? What is the song  of the book? 

Counting Stars by One Republic reminds of The Curseworkers Series by Holly Black... I don't why but when I think of Cassel and Lila's lives they remind me of the lyrics... It's like sometimes they're forced to love because of money or they actually are in love and other times? 

It's all a con. 

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Blog Tour and Review: The Morning Star by Tania Penn

The Morning Star
Title: The Morning Star
Author: Tania Penn
Release Date: 10th January 2013
Publisher: Penn Pal Publishing
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Quick Review: Being the daughter of Lucifer keeps seventeen year old Dawn Belial busy. For almost her entire lifetime, she has been trying to think of a way to free her Archangel mother, Michaela, whom her father has held captive for centuries. She's also attending high school - balancing trigonometry, history, and recruiting souls for her father along with her wicked half-sister, Venus.

There has been no time for love until she meets mysterious Gabriel, a British exchange student. As they fall in love against their will, she discovers a startling secret about him, and a shocking connection to her mother that changes everything.

Detailed Review: This book is awesome. But I feel so hurt because of one thing. The cliffhanger. Yes, the AHC, that's what I'm talking about. I just want to know something, who created CLIFFHANGERS in the first place? Did a person go and dangle off a cliff and some author got an idea to also do that in their book?

But the characters and story are, wow. Perfect. Dawn was the best heroine ever, and Venus managed to act her part out as the bitchy sister. who is the daughter of a succubus, Lilith. I thought that it was good that the author managed to put the good and the bad in Dawn, which I witnessed in her. 

So it starts, when Dawn starts a fire near their home, and when she is unwillingly caught up later by the police, she runs and manages to escape but discovers a power she would never want to show her father, Satan, Lucifer, the Devil: healing. Satan would never want anything to heal but rot right? Right.

Her father used to be an angel, but after the person he loves betrayed him, he has changed and been banished to the earth. But life isn't as bad as you think it could possibly be. They're rich, they have a hundred dead souls at their command, they have a normal life. 

Dawn's mistake has always been acting too human. So when Gabriel enters her life, who she believes to be a mortal, everything changes. The first time she saw him in a club, he was looking at her. The next time she saw him was in school. She feels a connection towards him, but she doesn't know why.

But what she doesn't know is his true identity. She has seen  her mother Michaela, who is imprisoned by Lucifer in a portal called the measure and Dawn is positive that her mother knows something about Gabriel.

Then the secret: Gabriel is an Archangel sent by Ramiel to help Michaela escape.

Dawn feels betrayed and she thinks she knows how her father feels now. So she decides to change. I was seriously so scared for her. The whole time, I was saying please don't become dark over and over again. I was that desperate. 

And then Silas comes into her life. She has always been attracted to Silas. He's gorgeous and different to other angels, more brave and daring.

But he has another secret.

He has made an her agreement with her father that they would rule Heaven together, with Michaela and Dawn by their sides. 

Silas also makes a mistake. He accidentally lets slip that Gabriel wasn't supposed to love her and this was the wake-up call she needed. She realized that when Gabriel says that he loved her, he meant it.

So at last, with faith she tries to rescue both Michaela and Gabriel but...

Not telling you what happens in the end. That's a cliffhanger for you whahahahahaha.

Brief Review: What made me took an instant liking to the book was the story. The story was perfectly planned out and everything to me seemed flawless. If only I could write as good as the author!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'


To Dawn,

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” ------Marthin Luther King Jr.

Your Reviewer:

Waiting on Wednesday: Wickedpedia by Chris Van Etten

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Title: WickedpediaAuthor: Chris Van Etten
Release Date: 2
4th June 2014
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

It's the return of Point Horror for the Internet generation! Don't open the door. Don't answer your phone. And whatever you do, DON'T turn on your computer. . . .

Cole and Greg love playing practical jokes through Wikipedia. They edit key articles and watch their classmates crash and burn giving oral reports on historical figures like Genghis Khan, the first female astronaut on Jupiter. So after the star soccer player steals Cole's girlfriend, the boys take their revenge by creating a Wikipedia page for him, an entry full of outlandish information including details about his bizarre death on the soccer field.

It's all in good fun, until the soccer player is killed in a freak accident . . . just as Cole and Greg predicted. The uneasy boys vow to leave Wikipedia alone but someone continues to edit articles about classmates dying in gruesome ways . . . and those entries start to come true as well.

To his horror, Cole soon discovers that someone has created a Wikipedia page for him, and included a date of death. He has one week to figure out who's behind the murders, or else he's set to meet a pretty grisly end.

I thought the title was quite cool and how they've used the concept of Wikipedia. I managed to imagine if the same thing would happen to me. The story would be quite good if the author has good writing skills. But I can't wait until 2014. I seriously can't. Someone give me a time machine NOW. But I must admit, the cover looks really spooky.

Friday, April 19, 2013

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #145

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

If you could hang out with any author (living) who would it be and what would you want to do?

This is so obvious for me! I would pick Cassandra Clare because I'm a big fan for all her books (including the manga version of Clockwork Angel) and I would follow her to meet the crew for TMI movie! And follow her to functions and hang out with her! 


Review: Scapemaker by Steve V, Cypert

Scapemaker (Scapemaker #1)Title: Scapemaker
Author: Steve V. Cypert
Release Date: 19th November 2012
Publisher: -
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Matthew is the son of Mr. Nicholas Namely, a local high school teacher. But unbeknownst to Matthew, his father is a dreamscaper whose classroom is connected to the dream-world. From his classroom, his students enter the halls of Scapemaker, a dream-world high school for young dreamscapers.

Following a couple of heartfelt tragic events, Matthew is compelled to investigate the unbelievable mysteries surrounding those events and is propelled into a whole new world. Matthew and his mother, Mae, are soon coerced into moving across the country for his father's strange medical needs. While attending his new school, Matthew comes to know the secrets that Daedree, an annoying girl from his former high school, has locked away. Matthew also meets Amber, a beautiful enigmatic girl who leads him to Mr. Xoner's classroom. While there, he learns the art of dreamscaping (which has been in the Namely bloodline for thousands of years). 

Matthew will come to know of Nox Celare, otherwise known as The Sandman, who is after a special element called Magineum. Neck deep in skinwalkers, sandsleepers, zombies, soul feeders, ghosts, dream-world criminals known as “night terrors” and more, Matthew learns he is in over his head. Matthew must not only solve the mysteries surrounding those tragic events, but he will also have to protect the Magineum with his life and find a way to be with the one girl of his dreams. Filled with secrecy, mystery and a forbidden tangle of young love, this new life will lead Matthew to unbelievable characters with the most extraordinary abilities he could never have imagined.

Scapemaker will keep you grounded in the real world while at the same time make the fantastical world around it that much more possible and enduring. This tale of young adult paranormal fantasy will keep you guessing and wanting more.

Detailed Review: Before I was even halfway through the book, I knew that it was going to be awesome. No way could any other person have written like Steve Cypert. His ideas are ingenious and insane. But hey, I just loved it all the way.

By the way, I know the cover looks spooky, but it think it ties in well with the story.

This book made me realise that the dream-world can control the real-world, and how different you can be when you're dreaming. 

I just wished I was a dreamscaper. That would be my birthday wish! It's just really cool and different to me. Everything is new. But too bad, I was born a non-scaper. 

After Matthew Namely's father fell into a coma and the murder of his friend Dobian Brown, he is forced into the dream-world, where it is both dangerous and beautiful at the same time. He finds out about his own blood and his father's past in Scapemaker, a school that educates dream-scapers.

What he finds out is this:
-The dream-world is not as safe as you think
-His father used to be Scapemaker's principal
-His father is not actually in a coma, he is in a prison called Sandstorm, a prison for traitors and night terrors
-Which means that his father was seen as a traitor 
-And this leads to the conclusion that he has to prove his father's innocence
-This includes saving his father's magineum from Nox, the sandman to gain full power

Dream-scapers are people who can cross into the dream-world consciously. They can do anything they want as they do in the real-world.

Non-scapers are just people like us, who dream but are unable to control the dream we are in. 

Actually I thought the book was going to be quite lame because it started with a football game but then it managed to evolve into something meaningful. Steve is such a great writer.

This book was always leaving me short-breathed, as if I just ran a marathon because I accompanied Matt on every adventure he went. I feel like Daedree, Matthew's friend, who can dream-read and be near the person at the same time, being tugged into adventure after adventure. It simply was exhilarating. Also, I love the way the dream-scapers have their own abilities which are unique. Skye can fly. Elijah can rewind time. Matthew can control the movements of non-scapers in the dream world. Amber can shape-shift. It's just AMAZING.

So I'm wishing to reborn into a dream-scaper. So please, GOD, I really want to be a dream-scaper just let me be one next time ok?

Also, the romance in there is a bit underdeveloped but you can expect more in the next book since the 'forbidden love' and 'love triangle' elements are still there. Those of you who love books like this, go ahead. But if you ignore this book, you're gonna regret forever! (jokes, don't take it seriously. Do whatever you want)

Brief Review: I wish I can read another book as good as this. This book is full of twists that is sure to leave your mind confused but wanting for more as questions develop page by page. This book will keep you reading all the way to the end! I'm being honest here!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'

To all non-scapers and dreamscapers in the the world, 

You know, Willie Wonka said it best: we are the makers of dreams, the dreamers of dreams.--- Herb Brooks

Your Reviewer: 

Announcement: Changes...

Hi guys! We want to tell you that we have decided to make one minor change when we write reviews. From now onwards, for every review we write, we are going to attach a quote from a famous person or book for the specific book we are reviewing. We can dedicate it to a character or the book or even the author.

Here's an example. We have decided to use Unearthly by Cynthia Hand.

So the layout will be like this:


Book Details

Quick Review

Detailed Review

Brief Review

Final Rating


The reason angels can fly is because they take themselves lightly.

( I dedicate this quote to Clara who found it hard to fly at first)

Your Reviewer

Monday, April 15, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: All Our Pretty Songs by Sarah McCarry

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

All Our Pretty SongsTitle: All Our Pretty Songs
Author: Sarah McCarry
Release Date: 30th July 2013
Publisher: St Martin's Griffin
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

The first book in an exciting YA trilogy, this is the story of two best friends on the verge of a terrifying divide when they begin to encounter a cast of strange and mythical characters.

Set against the lush, magical backdrop of the Pacific Northwest, two inseparable best friends who have grown up like sisters—the charismatic, mercurial, and beautiful Aurora and the devoted, soulful, watchful narrator—find their bond challenged for the first time ever when a mysterious and gifted musician named Jack comes between them. Suddenly, each girl must decide what matters most: friendship, or love. What both girls don’t know is that the stakes are even higher than either of them could have imagined. They’re not the only ones who have noticed Jack’s gift; his music has awakened an ancient evil—and a world both above and below which may not be mythical at all. The real and the mystical; the romantic and the heartbreaking all begin to swirl together, carrying the two on journey that is both enthralling and terrifying.

And it’s up to the narrator to protect the people she loves—if she can.

I LOVE THE COVER SO MUCH. It's so pretty... And the story is even better if it's about friendship and love! These types of books always make me wanna cry... You guys can't miss this! 100% guarantee that this is gonna be amazing!

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Review: The Sword of Sighs by Greg James

The Sword of Sighs (The Age of the Flame #1)Title: The Sword of Sighs
Author: Greg James
Release Date: 15th March 2013
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Sarah Bean lives a quiet life in Okeechobee, Florida until the day she is transported from our world to the fantastic realm of Seythe. She meets a wayfaring wizard called Ossen who saves her from the dreaded black riders, servants of a being known only as the Fallen One. Together, they will have to undertake a treacherous journey to the far-away Fellhorn mountain where Sarah must find the one weapon that can save them from the black riders pursuing them - The Sword of Sighs.

Detailed Review: Like people who judge a book by its cover, I judge a book in my own ways. I judge them by their first sentence, or if it's not sufficient, their first paragraph. 

This book hit my mark just nice. You can judge for yourself if you want. Here's the first paragraph of the book:

The night winds droned low and bitter around the snow-crusted flanks of the lone-standing mountain known as Fellhorn. Its forbidding heights were only slightly smoothed by the ice that had settled over its treacherous, beetling crags. Clouds clung, cancerous, to the bone-white breast of the moon, darkening the storm-wracked landscape below.

Even the description itself made me interested. I felt like an English teacher trying to look for the necessary tools needed to make a book awesome. And in one paragraph I found so many of them I knew it would be the same all the way. 

Turns out I was right. 

This story revolves around Sarah Bean, who holds the Flame inside her, necessary for killing the Fallen One, the Darkness That Was Not Darkness. She has her own Path to take. After being transported to the Wood Beneath the Worlds from her quiet life in Florida, she finds herself imprisoned by Yagga, a witch who lives in the Woods. In there, she finds Gorra who is actually the Woods itself trapped in a doll's body. Together, they fight against Yagga and succeed. Sarah thinks that she can go home now but instead has to face a choice she is unwilling to take. 

She takes her destined Path together with Ossen the Wayfarer and with one of the Sworn, who are trained to be assassins. But what Sarah doesn't know is the real identity of figure swathed in black who always accompany them in silence.

The Sworn is Princess Jedda, the pirncess or Highmount. She was thought to be a traitor-child and was thus sentenced to death. 

Along the way, they stumble across obstacles that seem difficult to overcome but together they faced them until Ossen loses his life fighting one of the Iron Gods and Jedda vanishes after being taken by the Fallen One. Sarah is now alone. But she reaches the Fell horn, which holds A'aron or the Sword of Sighs, the only weapon that can kill the Fallen One. 

And then a giant AHC just decided to show up on the last page. Thanks a lot, Greg. You just ruined a day for me because I was busy wiping tears from my face. I wasn't satisfied, simply wasn't. And you know that a book's awesome if I always end up like this after reading it. I thought that I was going to have a mental breakdown. 

For people who love books without romance, this book is for you.

Brief Review: Interesting and exciting, it was enough to catch my attention all the way! You'll never be able to put the book down. There is a big AHC awaiting you in the end that keeps me wanting more! CANNOT WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!!!!!!! I am this desperate. (Funny how the books I've reviewed so far are so freaking amazing!)

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing'

Your Reviewer:

Friday, April 12, 2013

TGIF - Feature & Follow Friday #144

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

We are about to see a lot of posts and tweets about reader conventions, RT, BEA, ALA and many more are starting soon. Which one would you love to attend? Where and why? 

I think RT (eventhough I haven't been to a book convention before...) If I could pick, I AM definitely Malaysia because I don't think my parents will let me fly all the way to America just to go to a book convention and at the same (I'm speaking for ALL booklovers in Malaysia) I think it'll be a good experience for everyone :)

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Review: Requiem for Blood by Alexandra Hope

Requiem for BloodTitle: Requiem for Blood
Author: Alexandra Hope
Publisher: Createspace
Release Date: 25th March 2013
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Seventeen year old Olivia Cohen has always had an appetite for blood and an aversion to the sun as a human and when she is killed by a mysterious young woman, she finds her appetite has heightened and her skin is now burned by the sun. Living her life in a colony with other people who live a "vampire-like" lifestyle, she has grown up hunting humans and believing there is a blood so powerful it will turn them from vampire-like into true vampires. On one of Olivia's final nights as a human she meets eighteen year old Troy Evans and is immediately drawn to the unique scent of his blood. Now as an actual vampire, she must learn how to suppress her need to hunt and kill for his sake and decide if his unique blood is worth saving from those who seek it.

Detailed Review: To be honest, I don't really appeal to stories that involve vampires or stuff of the like (although I go for werewolves more) but in the end this book totally rocked my world. 

This is not some Twilight book you'll expect, this is something different, something NEW, which I totally drank it like ironically, a vampire drinking blood. Because of this book, I look at vampires in a whole different light, because it is really not your average vampire story where some girl falls in love with a vampire and wants to live with him forever. If this is what you are expecting, you definitely won't get it. I mean even I was fooled by it. 

In the book there was one character I loved the most, which was the main character. Let me just say why. At first, when I read the book, I didn't really like her, but as it progressed my admiration for her started building up to a high level. When she turned into a vampire, she totally accepted it. And even though a vampire isn't supposed to be compassionate or human at all, Olivia is actually the most human vampire I've read about. When she killed her sister Alexa, she grieved and grieved and never forgave herself. Usually vampires would just forget about it but she still remembered it. And when she went on a hunting spree with another one of her colony members and killed many people for their blood, this heightened her conscience. Her ability to feel even as a vampire fascinated me.

Also, another aspect of the book which I liked was how you turned into a vampire. There are actually conditions for it. 

First, you have to be a blood-drinking human.

Second, you have to acquire a special type of blood, which comes from kitsunes, or fox spirits.

Olivia got the blood from Troy Evans, who is half-kitsune, if you're wondering with some help from 'a girl with all the answers', Erika, who is also a kitsune.

Although the book had not much romance, I still completely enjoyed it.

Brief Review: A vampire book with a whole new twist is just AWESOME. I hope I will stumble upon more books like this! Please say that there would be a sequel, please Alexandra. I am jumping up and down now with too much adrenaline! All from the book because it's packed with action too! Did I forget to mention that?

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing'

Your Reviewer: